Dovizioso wins the Austrian MotoGP after a brilliant last-corner pass on Marquez!

The pair swapped the lead repeatedly over the closing laps and Marquez looked set to finally break Ducati's Red Bull Ring dominance, only for the Italian to launch a perfect block-pass at the very final opportunity for arguably his greatest victory to date.

Rookie Quartararo took the early lead when Marquez and Dovizioso ran wide after a braking duel on the opening lap. The Petronas Yamaha rider then outshone the factory M1s of Rossi and Vinales fair-and-square to complete the podium.

Miller fell from the lead group while Espargaro's KTM appeared to cut out at the apex of Turn 3, Crutchlow falling in the chain reaction that followed.

Joan Mir withdrew from the event to continue his recovery from Monday's post-race fall at the Brno test. Jorge Lorenzo was again absent after fractures to his vertebrae at Assen and replaced by HRC test and wild-card rider Bradl.

Both Mir and Lorenzo aim to be back for the next round at Silverstone.

CLICK HERE for live updates…

Austrian MotoGP - Race Results
1Andrea DoviziosoITAMission Winnow Ducati (GP19)39m 34.771s
2Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.213s
3Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)*+6.117s
4Valentino RossiITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+7.719s
5Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+8.674s
6Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+8.695s
7Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati (GP18)*+16.021s
8Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)*+16.206s
9Danilo PetrucciITAMission Winnow Ducati (GP19)+17.350s
10Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+20.510s
11Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+22.273s
12Johann ZarcoFRARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+25.503s
13Stefan BradlGERRepsol Honda (RC213V)+31.962s
14Aleix EspargaroSPAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+34.741s
15Karel AbrahamCZEReale Avintia Ducati (GP18)+48.109s
16Andrea IannoneITAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+11.827s
 Tito RabatSPAReale Avintia Ducati (GP18)DNF
 Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (GP19)DNF
 Hafizh SyahrinMALRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)DNF
 Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)DNF
 Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)DNF

* Rookie.

By Peter McLaren



Loading Comments...