While the new Formula 1 season may still be seven weeks away, the sports car racing world will get its first slice of racing action in 2019 this weekend with the Rolex 24 at Daytona.

The curtain-raiser for the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season, the Rolex 24 is one of the most historic races in global motorsport, making it an attractive event for a number of racing's biggest stars.

5774263478001

CrashTV: 

Two-time Formula 1 world champion Fernando Alonso will return to the race this year with the hope of scoring overall victory for Wayne Taylor Racing. It will mark his first race since quitting F1 at the end of last season as he begins what could prove to be a busy 2019.

- A BEGINNER'S GUIDE TO THE ROLEX 24

- ROLEX 24: 5 STORYLINES TO FOLLOW

- ROLEX 24: ENTRY LIST

But with manufacturers such as Cadillac, Acura, BMW, Ferrari, Porsche, Corvette and BMW all ready to fight for class honours at Daytona International Speedway, there are a number of big storylines to follow.

Here's all the information you need on how to follow the race live this weekend.

When is the Rolex 24?

The Rolex 24 race starts at 7:35pm in the UK on Saturday January 26. The race will last 24 hours, giving a finish time of 7:35pm on Sunday January 27.

How can I watch it?

For viewers in the UK, there currently are no plans for the Rolex 24 to be broadcast on television.

However, the entirety of the race will be streamed live in the UK via IMSA’s website and app. IMSA’s coverage starts at 7:25pm, and will continue until 7:35pm on Sunday. Click here to visit IMSA’s website.

In the United States, NBC will be broadcasting the race across its network, splitting coverage over NBCSN and the NBC Sports app. Click here for more information.

How can I watch qualifying?

Qualifying for the Rolex 24 will be streamed live in the UK via the IMSA website and app on Thursday January 24. Coverage begins at 8:25pm and concludes at 9:40pm.

Am I able to watch practice?

Practice for the Rolex 24 at Daytona is not scheduled to be viewable in the UK.

Weekend Schedule

Thursday January 24
Free Practice 1 – 10:20am to 11:05am ET (3:20pm to 4:05pm GMT)
Free Practice 2 – 1:30pm to 2:25pm ET (6:30pm to 7:25pm GMT)
GTD Qualifying – 3:35pm to 3:50pm ET (8:35pm to 8:50pm GMT)
GTLM Qualifying – 4:00pm to 4:15pm ET (9:00pm to 9:15pm GMT)
Prototype Qualifying – 4:25pm to 4:40pm ET (9:25pm to 9:40pm GMT)
Free Practice 3 – 7:00pm to 8:30pm ET (00:00am to 1:30am GMT)

Friday January 25
Free Practice 4 – 10:00am to 11:00am ET (3:00pm to 4:00pm GMT)

Saturday January 26
Rolex 24 at Daytona race start – 2:35pm ET (7:35pm GMT)

Sunday January 27
Rolex 24 at Daytona finish – 2:35pm ET (7:35pm GMT)

Comments

Loading Comments...