Luca Bernardi claimed a first WorldSSP pole position at Magny-Cours after getting the better of championship leader Dominique Aegerter. 

WorldSSP Magny-Cours, France - Superpole Qualifying Results
1Luca BernardiSMRCM Racing Yamaha1:40.330s
2Dominique AegerterSWITen Kate Racing Yamaha+0.129s
3Niki TuuliFINMV Agusta Corsa Clienti+0.320s
4Valentin DebiseFRAGMT94 Yamaha+0.326s
5Manuel GonzalezSPAYamaha Parkingo Racing+0.453s
6Jules CluzelFRAGMT94 Yamaha+0.514s
7Kevin ManfrediITAAltogo Yamaha Racing+0.566s
8Federico CaricasuloSPABiblion Yamaha Motoxracing+0.629s
9Philipp OettlGERKawasaki Puccetti Racing+0.682s
10Andy VerdoiaFRAGMT94 Yamaha+0.702s
11Can OncuTURKawasaki Puccetti Racing+0.882s
12Unai OrradreSPAYamaha MS Racing+1.031s
13Steven OdendaalSAEvan Bros Yamaha+1.095s
14Federico FuligniITAVFT Racing Yamaha+1.193s
15Raffaele De RosaITAOrelac Racing Kawasaki+1.215s
16Peter SebestyenHUNEvan Bros Yamaha+1.246s
17Stephane FrossardSWIJura Vitesse Moto Team Yamaha+1.325s
18Marcel BrennerSUIVFT Racing Yamaha+1.416s
19Randy KrummenacherSWIEAB Racing Yamaha+1.484s
20Michel FabrizioITAG.A.P Motozoo Puccetti Kawasaki Racing+1.515s
21Christoffer BergmanSWEWoicik Racing yamaha+1.588s
22Dani ValleSPAYamaha MS Racing+1.623s
23David Sanchis MartinezSPAWRP Wepol Yamaha Racing+1.755s
24Hannes SoomerESTKallio Racing Yamaha+1.805s
25Leonardo TacciniITAOrelac Racing Kawasaki+2.091s
26Vertti TakalaFINKallio Racing Yamaha+2.346s
27Maria HerreraSPABiblion Yamaha Motoxracing+2.625s
28Galang Hendra PratamaINDTen Kate Racing Yamaha+2.762s
29Vincent FalconeFRATFC Racing Yamaha+3.535s
30Luigi MontellaITAChiodo Racing Yamaha+3.540s
31Eduardo Montero HuertaSPADK Motorsport Yamaha+4.404s

After setting the pace early on, MV Agusta rider Niki Tuuli was displaced at the top by Aegerter who set the first sub 1m 41s lap of the session. 

Tuuli remained the only rider within half a second of Aegerter’s top time until seven minutes left as Valentin Debise went quickest on a 1:40.656s. 

Tuuli then regained top spot for the second time, however, the Finn’s time was immediately bettered by Aegerter once again. 

There was late drama as Philipp Oettl crashed at turn five, moments after Luca Bernardi secured his above-mentioned maiden pole.