SUNRED Engineering and Campos Racing are to join forces for a combined entry into the World Touring Car Championship this season.

Team principal's Joan Orus and Adrian Campos have elected to team up to run a two-car SEAT team in the WTCC using, while the new outfit will also field a single car in the European Touring Car Cup.

No drivers for either programme - both of which will run under the Campos Racing banner - have been confirmed.

"I am very happy, as this is the first important step for establishing a formidable team," Campos said. "Joan Orus is one of the people who know how to run a professional team for touring cars. I hope this collaboration will give Campos Racing as many titles as we have won in single-seater championships in the last fifteen years."

SUNRED chief Orus meanwhile was also pleased with the announcement of the new partnership.

"I am delighted to incorporate my team into Campos Racing," Orus said. "Together we may establish a stronger team that will be able to aim for ambitious programmes. My own task is to put in place a touring car department within Campos Racing for WTCC and ETCC."

SUNRED has run multiple cars in the WTCC in recent seasons and won the ETCC title last year with Fernando Monje. Campos by contrast is best known for its exploits in single-seaters, enjoying success in the likes of F3 and GP2.

Having sold his GP2 team to Alejandro Agag, Campos then secured an F1 entry for 2010, only to sell F1 outfit to Jose Roman Carabante on the eve of its debut season - with Campos Racing instead reforming to compete in AutoGP.

The team was previously linked with a WTCC entry back in 2009, although a rumoured Honda entry failed to materialise.

2013 WTCC full-season entry list: (as of 6 March 2013):

Gabriele TarquiniHonda Racing Team JASHonda Civic 1.6TTiago MonteiroHonda Racing Team JASHonda Civic 1.6TJames ThompsonLukoil LADA SportLADA Granta SportAleksei DudukaloLukoil LADA SportLADA Granta SportNorbert MicheliszZengo MotorsportHonda Civic 1.6TTom CoronelROAL MotorsportBMW 320 TCDarryl O'YoungROAL MotorsportBMW 320 TCAlex MacDowallBamboo EngineeringChevrolet Cruze 1.6TJames NashBamboo EngineeringChevrolet Cruze 1.6TMehdi BennaniProteam MotorsportBMW 320 TCRob HuffMunnich MotorsportSEAT Leon WTCCMarc BassengMunnich MotorsportSEAT Leon WTCCRene MunnichMunnich MotorsportSEAT Leon WTCCFranz EngstlerLiqui Moly Team EngstlerBMW 320 TCCharles NgLiqui Moly Team EngstlerBMW 320 TCFredy BarthWiechers SportBMW 320 TCPepe OriolaTuenti Racing TeamSEAT Leon WTCCStefano D'AstePB MotorsportBMW 320 TCYvan MullerRMLChevrolet Cruze 1.6TTom ChiltonRMLChevrolet Cruze 1.6TTBA NIKA Racing Chevrolet Cruze 1.6TTBACampos RacingSEAT Leon WTCCTBACampos RacingSEAT Leon WTCC