Click here for BSB race two results at Oulton Park

Shane Byrne has claimed his first MCE British Superbike championship win of the season as James Ellison and Leon Haslam were involved in a dramatic collision battling for the rostrum at Oulton Park.

The defending BSB champion secured a strong second place in race one and has gone one better after bolting to the front early on before building a slender lead on the chasing Ellison and Haslam.

Byrne's route to victory was made easier by a massive clash between Ellison and Haslam, with Ellison appearing to pick up a technical issue on his McAMS Yamaha and the chasing Haslam hit the rear of his rival with the impact taking both riders out.

Ellison, with his exhaust bent facing forwards, managed to pull over relatively unscathed and checked on his BSB rival who was reported as okay but taken to the medical centre as precaution.

With Byrne suddenly given a six-second advantage he eased off for victory, while further back a five-way battle for the final two podium spots ignited.

Glenn Irwin made it a Be Wiser Ducati 1-2 by edging past Tyco BMW's Christian Iddon on the penultimate lap to take his best career result in BSB.

Jason O'Halloran also nipped past Iddon at Old Hall on the final lap to grab Honda Racing's maiden BSB rostrum with the new Fireblade CBR1000RR SP2.

Iddon was able to hold off Luke Mossey on the JG Speedfit Kawasaki for fourth place as Josh Brookes claimed sixth on the Anvil Hire Yamaha ahead of Peter Hickman on the Smiths Racing BMW.

Behind the front-runners Tommy Bridewell has completed his best round of the season for Team WD-40 Kawasaki in eighth place, one second clear of John Hopkins on the Moto Rapido Ducati as Billy McConnell completed the top ten on the Quattro Plant FS-3 Racing Kawasaki.

Sylvain Guintoli rescued a nightmare Oulton Park round with 11th for Bennetts Suzuki as the Hawk Racing-run squad continued to struggle to get the new GSX-R1000 up to speed in BSB.

Jakub Smrz secured a double points finish for Lloyd & Jones/PR Racing BMW in 12th as Lee Jackson, Martin Jessopp and Taylor Mackenzie completed the points positions.