Formula 1 is back this weekend with the second round of the 2019 world championship, the Bahrain Grand Prix. 

The 2019 season kicked off in Australia two weeks ago as Valtteri Bottas bounced back from a disappointing 2018 campaign to begin the new year in the perfect manner, turning in his “best-ever” drive to record an emphatic victory, leading a convincing Mercedes 1-2 from teammate and reigning world champion Lewis Hamilton. 

Ferrari will be desperate to hit back after being beaten to the podium by Red Bull in Melbourne, having suffered a mysterious drop-off in performance following a strong pre-season showing, leaving Sebastian Vettel and newcomer Charles Leclerc a distant fourth and fifth. Vettel has high hopes of a turnaround in Sakhir with the German looking to record a third consecutive win for the Scuderia. 

Five questions that need answering in F1 2019

When is the Bahrain Grand Prix?

The 2019 Bahrain Grand Prix takes place on Sunday March 31. Cars will hit the track for the first time during FP1 and FP2 on Friday, before final practice and qualifying continues on Saturday. 

Where is the Bahrain Grand Prix taking place?

The Bahrain Grand Prix is held at the Bahrain International Circuit in Sakhir, Bahrain. The track is 5.412 km long and comprises of 15 turns, with the race set to last 57 laps.

Where can I watch the Bahrain Grand Prix?

The 2019 Bahrain Grand Prix is being shown exclusively live on Sky Sports (UK only). 

Friday March 29

LIVE Bahrain GP FP1
- Sky Sports F1, 10.45am
LIVE Bahrain GP FP2 - Sky Sports F1, 2.45pm

Saturday March 30

LIVE Bahrain GP FP3
- Sky Sports F1, 11.45am
LIVE Bahrain GP Qualifying - Sky Sports F1, 2pm (build-up, session start 3pm)

Sunday March 31

LIVE Bahrain GP Pit Lane Live
- Sky Sports F1, 2.30pm
LIVE Bahrain GP On The Grid - Sky Sports F1, 3.30pm
LIVE Bahrain GP Race - Sky Sports F1, 4.10pm

How else can I follow the 2019 Bahrain Grand Prix? 

Besides TV Coverage, will be reporting on-site from the Sahkir paddock with live text commentary from all sessions, plus the usual news, interviews and features. Updates will also be posted to's F1 Twitter account (Crash_NET_F1). 

Recent Bahrain Grand Prix F1 Winners: 

2018: Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari
2017: Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari
2016: Nico Rosberg, Mercedes
2015: Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
2014: Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
2013: Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull
2012: Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull
2010: Fernando Alonso, Ferrari
2009: Jenson Button, Brawn
2008: Felipe Massa, Ferrari 

Where can I watch Formula 1 in 2019? 

ALL F1 races, qualifying and practice sessions will be shown exclusively LIVE on Sky Sports F1 in the UK during 2019 - barring the British Grand Prix, which will be dual-broadcast with Channel 4. C4 will instead provide a comprehensive highlights package across the season. 

17 March Australian Grand Prix
31 March Bahrain Grand Prix
14 April Chinese Grand Prix 
28 April Azerbaijan Grand Prix
12 May Spanish Grand Prix 
26 May Monaco Grand Prix 
9 June Canadian Grand Prix 
23 June French Grand Prix 
30 June Austrian Grand Prix 
14 July British Grand Prix 
28 July German Grand Prix 
4 August Hungarian Grand Prix 
1 September Belgian Grand Prix 
8 September Italian Grand Prix 
22 September Singapore Grand Prix
29 September Russian Grand Prix 
13 October Japanese Grand Prix 
27 October Mexican Grand Prix 
3 November United States Grand Prix
17 November Brazilian Grand Prix 
1 December Abu Dhabi Grand Prix