Starting grid for F1 Australian Grand Prix: How the race will begin

Max Verstappen is on pole position at the F1 Australian Grand Prix.

Max Verstappen
Max Verstappen

Here is the starting grid for the 2024 F1 Australian Grand Prix. 

2024 F1 Australian Grand Prix - STARTING GRID
1Max VerstappenNEDOracle Red Bull Racing
2Carlos SainzESPScuderia Ferrari
3Lando NorrisGBRMcLaren F1 Team
4Charles LeclercMONScuderia Ferrari
5Oscar PiastriAUSMcLaren F1 Team
6Sergio PerezMEXOracle Red Bull Racing
7George RussellGBRMercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team
8Yuki TsunodaJPNVisa Cash App RB F1 Team
9Lance StrollCANAston Martin Aramco F1 Team
10Fernando AlonsoESPAston Martin Aramco F1 Team
11Lewis HamiltonGBRMercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team
12Alex AlbonTHAWilliams Racing
13Valtteri BottasFINStake F1 Team Kick Sauber
14Kevin MagnussenDENMoneyGram Haas F1 Team
15Esteban OconFRABWT Alpine F1 Team
16Nico HulkenbergGERMoneyGram Haas F1 Team
17Pierre GaslyFRABWT Alpine F1 Team
18Daniel RicciardoAUSVisa Cash App RB F1 Team
19Zhou GuanyuCHNStake F1 Team Kick Sauber

Verstappen made it three poles in three races as he topped qualifying.

Ferrari’s Carlos Sainz - returning from surgery to remove his appendix - took an impressive second as he emerged as Verstappen’s nearest challenger.

McLaren’s Lando Norris will start third, with Charles Leclerc fourth, and Oscar Piastri fifth. 

Sergio Perez qualified third but will start sixth after being hit with a three-place grid penalty for blocking Haas driver Nico Hulkenberg in Q1. 

Mercedes' George Russell, RB's Yuki Tsunoda and the Aston Martin pair of Lance Stroll and Fernando Alonso complete the rest of the top-10 starting order.

Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton will start from a lowly 11th after the seven-time world champion suffered a shock Q2 elimination. 

Read More