Mark Webber has joined a select group of drivers including former world champion, Jacques Villeneuve, after becoming a three times winner of the prestigious Bruce McLaren Award, presented annually by the British Racing Drivers' Club (BRDC) to the top Commonwealth driver.

Webber received the award from BRDC Chairman and former F1 star Martin Brundle at the Autosports International show in Birmingham at the weekend, in the presence of a number of motorsport luminaries including Jean Alesi, Mark Blundell, Johnny Herbert and fellow Australian Paul Stoddart with whom Webber's management are presently in negotiations with for a seat with the KL Minardi Asiatech team in this year's FIA Formula One World Championship.

Webber first won the Bruce McLaren Award in 1998 while driving for the AMG Mercedes team in the FIA GT Championship and again in 2000 for his achievements in his debut season in the FIA International Formula 3000 championship in which he finished third with Stoddart's European Formula Racing team.

In 2001, Webber raced for the Super Nova F3000 team and finished runner-up in the championship with wins at Imola, Monaco and Magny Cours to his credit. He combined his season with extensive testing for the Benetton Renault Formula One team and remains a Renault Sport contracted driver for 2002.

"It's great to receive the Award from the BRDC again," commented Webber, "It's a very well respected club and to win the Bruce McLaren Award for my results in 2001 F3000 championship is a special honour."

The trophy is named in honour of the late New Zealander Bruce McLaren, founder of the great McLaren F1 team.

Former Bruce McLaren Award winners:

1970 Jack Brabham (Australia)
1971 Tim Schenken (Australia)
1972 Graham McRae (New Zealand)
1973 Frank Gardner (Australia)
1974 John Nicholson (New Zealand)
1975 Alan Jones (Australia)
1976 Alan Jones (Australia)
1977 Alan Jones (Australia)
1978 Alan Jones (Australia)
1979 Alan Jones (Australia)
1980 Alan Jones (Australia)
1981 Geoff Brabham (Australia)
1982 Vern Schuppan (Australia)
1983 Vern Schuppan (Australia)
1984 Mike Thackwell (New Zealand)
1985 Mike Thackwell (New Zealand)
1986 Denny Hulme (New Zealand)
1987 Mike Thackwell (New Zealand)
1988 Geoff Brabham (Australia)
1989 David Brabham (Australia)
1990 Paul Tracy (Canada)
1991 David Brabham (Australia)
1992 Not Awarded
1993 Geoff Brabham (Australia)
1994 Paul Tracy (Canada)
1995 Jacques Villeneuve (Canada)
1996 Jacques Villeneuve (Canada)
1997 Jacques Villeneuve (Canada)
1998 Mark Webber (Australia)
1999 Tomas Scheckter (South Africa)
2000 Mark Webber (Australia)
2001 Mark Webber (Australia)