British MotoGP, Silverstone - Race Results
1Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Lenovo (GP22)40m 10.26s
2Maverick ViñalesSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)+0.426s
3Jack MillerAUSDucati Lenovo (GP22)+0.614s
4Enea BastianiniITAGresini Ducati (GP21)+1.651s
5Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP22)+1.750s
6Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)+2.727s
7Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+3.021s
8Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+3.819s
9Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)+3.958s
10Marco BezzecchiITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP21)*+6.646s
11Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)+7.730s
12Luca MariniITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP22)+13.439s
13Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+13.706s
14Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+13.906s
15Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+16.359s
16Andrea DoviziosoITAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)+20.805s
17Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)+21.099s
18Remy GardnerAUSKTM Tech3 (RC16)*+24.579s
19Stefan BradlGERRepsol Honda (RC213V)+28.773s
20Darryn BinderRSAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)*+33.653s
21Raul FernandezSPAKTM Tech3 (RC16)*+35.601s
22Fabio Di GiannantonioITAGresini Ducati (GP21)*+36.460s
 Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)DNF
 Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP22)DNF

* Rookie

Francesco Bagnaia holds off a charging Maverick Vinales to win the British MotoGP at Silverstone, with Jack Miller making it two factory Ducatis on the podium.

Vinales had been unable to use the rear ride height device at the start and suffered a near miss with Fabio Quartararo, before fighting his way forwards from the lower end of the top six to challenge for his first Aprilia victory.

With a Long Lap penalty for reigning champion Quartararo and injuries for Aleix Espargaro, the title leaders were left to play supporting roles, finishing eighth and ninth respectively.

Espargaro made a long dive inside Quartararo into Brooklands on the final lap, but the Yamaha rider - who had been second before the penalty, but was unable to make an impact after it - calmly retook the position on the exit.

Your FAVOURITE British MotoGP races & moments | MotoGP

In front of 41,000 fans, pole man Johann Zarco took the holeshot with Quartararo muscling his way up to second ahead of Jack Miller, Francesco Bagnaia, Alex Rins and Maverick Vinales with Aleix Espargaro in seventh.

Zarco held the advantage until crashing from the lead on lap 5, shortly after Quartararo had dropped from second to fifth after serving his Long Lap penalty, which looked to cost him around 1.5s.

Alex Rins passed Jack Miller for the lead shortly after Zarco's downfall, with Francesco Bagnaia up to third and Quartararo - after briefly moving to fourth when Zarco fell - was demoted back to fifth when he was passed along the Hangar straight by Jorge Martin.

Rins, the 2019 Silverstone winner, was unable to break clear and his decline all the way down to seventh place began when he lost the lead to Bagnaia with nine laps to go.

By contrast, Enea Bastianini defied a missing winglet after contact at the first turn to climb all the way to fourth, ahead of Martin, KTM's Miguel Oliveira and Rins, whose team-mate Joan Mir crashed out shortly after passing Aleix Espargaro.

Behind Quartararo and Espargaro, rookie Marco Bezzecchi completed the top ten.

With Marc Marquez still recovering from his latest arm surgery, Pol Espargaro – tipped to make a return to KTM and Tech3 next season - was again partnered by HRC test rider Stefan Bradl this weekend.