Dovizioso takes pole position for the Japanese MotoGP at Motegi ahead of satellite stars Zarco and Miller.

Title leader Marquez - who fell at the end of FP4 - will start from the back of row two, alongside Crutchlow and Iannone.

Marquez currently has a 77-point lead over Dovizioso and 99-point lead over Rossi. If the Honda rider has a championship lead of at least 75-points after Sunday's race, he will claim his fifth MotoGP title with three rounds still to go.

Jorge Lorenzo has withdrawn from the event due to the left wrist fracture in Thailand.

Sylvain Guintoli and Katsuyuki Nakasuga are making their latest wild-card appearances for Suzuki and Yamaha respectively.

Tito Rabat is still recovering from leg fractures at Silverstone and again replaced by WorldSBK rider Jordi Torres. Torres has the GP16 machines of Simeon, who is on Rabat's GP17s.

CLICK HERE for live updates

Qualifying 2:

  1. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP18) 1m 44.590s [Lap 7/8] 310km/h (Top Speed)
  2. Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 1m 44.658s +0.068s [Lap 7/7] 305k
  3. Jack Miller AUS Pramac Ducati (GP17) 1m 44.727s +0.137s [Lap 7/8] 306k
  4. Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 44.820s +0.230s [Lap 6/7] 308k
  5. Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 44.832s +0.242s [Lap 8/8] 306k
  6. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 44.889s +0.299s [Lap 7/8] 306k
  7. Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 45.140s +0.550s [Lap 7/7] 308k
  8. Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 45.225s +0.635s [Lap 8/8] 305k
  9. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 45.265s +0.675s [Lap 3/7] 306k
  10. Alvaro Bautista ESP Angel Nieto Team (GP17) 1m 45.396s +0.806s [Lap 8/8] 307k
  11. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 45.519s +0.929s [Lap 8/8] 308k
  12. Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V)* 1m 46.168s +1.578s [Lap 6/6] 300k

Qualifying 1:

  1. Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 45.722s 301k
  2. Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 45.742s 306k
  3. Danilo Petrucci ITA Pramac Ducati (GP18) 1m 45.759s 306k
  4. Hafizh Syahrin MAL Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 1m 45.765s 305k
  5. Franco Morbidelli ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 1m 45.969s 302k
  6. Karel Abraham CZE Angel Nieto Team (GP16) 1m 46.072s 304k
  7. Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 46.183s 303k
  8. Katsuyuki Nakasuga JPN Yamaha Factory (YZR-M1) 1m 46.441s 305k
  9. Scott Redding GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 46.571s 303k
  10. Xavier Simeon ESP Reale Avintia (GP17)* 1m 46.573s 300k
  11. Thomas Luthi SWI EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 1m 46.817s 302k
  12. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 47.106s 305k
  13. Jordi Torres SPA Reale Avintia (GP16) 1m 47.147s 306k

Fastest practice time:
Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati 1m 45.107s (FP3)

Official Motegi MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 43.790s (2015)
Fastest race lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 45.350s (2015)

By Peter McLaren