Pole position qualifier Francesco Bagnaia leads morning warm-up for the Algarve MotoGP at Portimao.

But after struggling for race pace with the hard rear tyre yesterday, new world champion Fabio Quartararo tried the medium rear this morning and was fastest for most of the session on his way to second.

Tech3 KTM's Iker Lecuona continued to impress in third.

Alex Marquez and then Aleix Espargaro fell during the session.

Marc Marquez, winner of the past two MotoGP rounds, is missing the event after still feeling 'unwell' several days after sustaining a 'slight concussion' while training on an off-road bike. Marquez is replaced by test rider Stefan Bradl.

The hard front tyre option has been changed from the disliked asymmetric version selected for April's Portimao round, to a symmetric hard compound (which is harder than the 2020 front tyre).

Home star Oliveira was the winner of last November's inaugural Portimao race while Quartararo dominated from Bagnaia and Mir in April's return.

Although Quartararo has already wrapped up the 2021 riders' title, with Bagnaia and Mir on course for second and third, Ducati and Yamaha remain locked in a close battle for victory in the teams' and constructors' championships.

Algarve MotoGP, Portimao - Warm-up Results
PosRiderNatTeamTime/DiffLapMax (km/h)
1Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Team (GP21)1'39.711s8/9340k
2Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.111s12/12336k
3Iker LecuonaSPAKTM Tech3 (RC16)+0.257s9/12333k
4Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.315s7/12338k
5Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+0.385s10/11338k
6Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.519s11/11341k
7Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)+0.526s7/9341k
8Jack MillerAUSDucati Team (GP21)+0.590s8/12350k
9Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.610s6/11341k
10Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.667s11/11332k
11Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP21)+0.668s11/12345k
12Danilo PetrucciITAKTM Tech3 (RC16)+0.682s10/12336k
13Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+0.767s6/7346k
14Luca MariniITASky VR46 Avintia Ducati (GP19)*+0.810s11/12343k
15Enea BastianiniITAAvintia Ducati (GP19)*+0.865s8/12345k
16Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.891s10/12341k
17Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP21)*+1.101s9/10342k
18Andrea DoviziosoITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+1.241s10/12334k
19Stefan BradlGERRepsol Honda (RC213V)+1.300s8/12342k
20Valentino RossiITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+1.436s8/12341k
21Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)+1.453s5/12340k
22Maverick ViñalesSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+1.536s5/12341k

* Rookie
Official Portimao MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Francesco Bagnaia ITA Ducati 1m 38.725s (2021)
Fastest race lap:
Alex Rins SPA Suzuki 1m 39.450s (2021)

By Peter McLaren