W Series to support eight F1 races in 2022 with Miami as opener

W Series will race at eight Formula 1 weekends in 2022 as the all-female series enters its third year.
W Series to support eight F1 races in 2022 with Miami as opener

The championship will kick off in style in Miami as it hosts F1’s inaugural visit in early May.

W Series will also make its debut in Asia for the first time, taking to the iconic Suzuka Circuit in Japan.

Speaking of the news, F1 managing director Ross Brawn said: “We are proud to announce that W Series will continue to join us at eight Formula 1 races in 2022. it has been incredible to witness the championship progress as we continue to champion diversity across motorsport, and it is exciting to see the series will visit five new venues next year, including its debut in Asia.

“We believe that it is extremely important to give everyone the opportunity to reach the highest levels of our sport and our partnership with W Series continues to demonstrate our resolve in building greater diversity across Formula 1.”

W Series CEO Catherine Bond Muir added: “W Series’ expansion continues with the announcement of our 2022 race calendar which will see us visit more circuits and countries in a single season than ever before.

“Last year, we began a landmark partnership with Formula 1 and our talented grid of female racing drivers proved that they belong on motor racing’s greatest stage.

“I would like to thank Formula 1 for their continued support and commitment to creating more opportunities for girls and women in the highest categories of our sport.”

2022 W Series calendar:

Round 1: Miami (May 6-8)

Round 2: Barcelona (May 20-22)

Round 3: Silverstone (July 1-3)

Round 4: Le Castellet (July 22-24)

Round 5: Budapest (July 29-31)

Round 6: Suzuka (October 7-9)

Round 7: Austin (October 21-23)

Round 8: Mexico City (October 28-30)

Read More