Former champions Steve Hislop and John Reynolds continued their private duel for the British Superbike Championship with a victory apiece in the double race tenth round on the tight, fast 1.226mile Brands Hatch Indy Circuit.

Reynolds could easily have been celebrating a winning double but the Red Bull Ducati rider was elated to hit back, snatching a second race victory with some real hard, fast riding in a terrific showdown with title rival Steve Hislop over the final couple of laps.

Throughout the two races, the battling duo had provided the front-running action. In the opener Reynolds, who had made good use of his fourth pole start of the campaign, looked to be holding off his MonsterMob Ducati rival but then on the charge through Clearways, Reynolds bike bucked wildly out of line at 120mph.

Somehow Reynolds held on and amazingly tried to hit back but had to settle for second best to Hislop. "It was a big moment and I was lucky to land back down in the seat - I was pretty happy to save it. Then I was trying to pull him back but going through the back-markers I was having to take a lot of risks."

Next time out Hislop made the running, charging ahead of Reynolds at Paddock Bend but Reynolds was giving nothing away and was always running in close contention moving ahead on the twelvth lap, but the Scot hit-back grabbing the advantage with four laps to go with a daring move as the leaders lapped Steve Marks.

Reynolds took the inside line on the dash towards Paddock Bend, with Hislop going round the outside to take the lead - Reynolds hit back powerfully and decisively to win nipping ahead at Druids and holding on by less than a third of a second.

In the title stakes Hislop, the winner of 11 races, has the edge by 20 points over Reynolds, nine times a race winner but Shane Byrne, the Sittingbourne rider aboard the Performance House Suzuki, with his eight winning double amid 18 class victories, clinched the Privateers Cup.

John McGuiness took victory in the British Supersport action, ahead of new series-leader Karl Harris. Paul Young took victory in the Superstock race, while Declan Swanton enjoyed victory in the Junior British Superstock class. Shane Norval took 250cc honours with Leon Camier leading the 125cc race to victory.