The Belgian might be out of title contention but Vandoorne was in a league of his own having topped group qualifying.

Rowland took to the top with a 1m06.925s in Superpole but a stunning final sector from Vandoorne put him fastest of all.

With Vandoorne and Rowland not fighting for the title, they have nothing to lose going into the E-Prix.

Mitch Evans is best placed to take the title after qualifying third for Jaguar.

Evans currently sits fourth in the championship, just five points off leader Nyck de Vries, who is set to start from 13th.

Alexander Sims will start from fourth ahead of Tom Blomqvist, who was the surprise of qualifying in Berlin.

Norman Nato couldn’t take part in Superpole after suffering a technical issue before his run in the final session - the Frenchman will start from sixth.

Andre Lotterer and Sebastien Buemi narrowly missed out on Superpole with it being one of the closest qualifying sessions of the year.

Still in title contention, Jake Dennis will fancy his chances from ninth, while Pascal Wehrlein rounded out the top 10.

Edoardo Mortara will start from 11th in the second Venturi, going into this afternoon’s E-Prix second in the championship. 

Next up was Sergio Sette Camara, de Vries, Alex Lynn and Antonio Felix da Costa completing the top 15.

Jean-Eric Vergne was only 16th, while the winner of the first Berlin E-Prix - Lucas di Grassi - was 17th.

Maximilian Gunther, Rene Rast and Oliver Turvey round out the top 20.

Joel Eriksson and Nick Cassidy will share the back row of the grid for this afternoon’s season finale.

Click here for the full FIA Formula E qualifying results from the second Berlin E-Prix.