Mortara wins second Formula E Diriyah E-Prix ahead of Frijns

Edoardo Mortara has won the second Diriyah E-Prix in Formula E after the race finished behind the Safety Car.
Mortara wins second Formula E Diriyah E-Prix ahead of Frijns

Starting from second on the grid, Mortara was able to show Venturi’s impressive race pace as he managed to get ahead of Mercedes’ Nyck de Vries when Lucas di Grassi took the lead with the use of attack mode.

Mortara got ahead of his teammate, while di Grassi lost out to Robin Frijns.

Despite late pressure, Mortara’s win was secured when the Safety Car was deployed after Alexander Sims crashed at Turn 6.

In accordance with the regulations, unlike in the first race, additional time couldn’t be added thus Mortara had to keep the lead into the final three corners to take his first win of the season ahead of Frijns and di Grassi. 

Venturi’s win makes it back-to-back wins for the Mercedes powertrain but it wasn’t a great race for the works team.

De Vries - who started on pole - dropped down to 10th after losing out to di Grassi then contact with Jean-Eric Vergne into Turn 19. 

The reigning Formula E champion dropped from fourth to ninth, before losing another place to finish 10th overall.

Andre Lotterer secured fourth for Porsche ahead of Jake Dennis and Vergne. 

Stoffel Vandoorne recovered from 12th on the grid to seventh in the second Mercedes, while Oliver Rowland, Pascal Wehrlein and de Vries completed the points-paying positions.

Click here for the full FIA Formula E results from the second Diriyah E-Prix

Read More