Formula E’s new knock-out qualifying debuted for the first time with the grid split into two with the fastest four drivers from each group progressing into the quarter-finals. 

Vandoorne finished third behind Robin Frijns and Sam Bird in the opening qualifying group but the Belgian was on-form when it came to the knock-out phase.

He beat Nick Cassidy in the first phase before toppling Mercedes teammate Nyck de Vries in the semi-final.

A scrappy lap from Dennis in the final allowed Vandoorne to take pole position in Saudi Arabia. 

Vandoorne will start on pole position ahead of Dennis while reigning champions de Vries made it two Mercedes cars in the top three.

Andre Lotterer lost out to Dennis in the semi-final phase to secure fourth ahead of Bird, Cassidy, Frijns and Rowland - this quarter progressed into the quarter-finals but lost their respective duels.

Completing the top 10 was Lucas di Grassi on his debut for Venturi and Maximilian Günther.

Pascal Wehrlein narrowly missed out on a top 10 spot with 11th ahead of the second Venturi of Edoardo Mortara.

Mortara crashed his Venturi in the dying stages of Group B’s qualifying sessions, causing yellow flags.

Jean-Eric Vergne will be disappointed with 13th for Techeetah ahead of Jaguar’s Mitch Evans and Sergio Sette Câmara.

Rookies Dan Ticktum and Antonio Giovinazzi struggled for pace and are set to start from 20th and 22nd.

Click here for the full FIA Formula E qualifying results for the first Diriyah E-Prix