The IndyCar Series has announced that it will adopt the Indianapolis 500-style qualifying system for all oval races during the 2008 season.

Rather than a single quick lap, the series will instead implement four-lap qualifying runs at every oval circuit this season, starting with the season opener at Homestead-Miami Speedway at the end of March.

Pole will go to the driver with the fastest cumulative time over four laps, with each driver having a maximum of one attempt at qualifying at circuits outside Indianapolis.

"Qualifying is one of the most nerve-wracking experiences for an IndyCar Series driver," Brian Barnhart, president of the competition and operations division of the Indy Racing League, said. "At Indianapolis, that has meant 10 miles of error-free driving at 225-plus miles per hour. We're going to take that kind of intensity and drama to every other oval on our schedule.

"This new qualifying format will enhance the overall IndyCar Series weekend experience for our fans and our oval track promoters with a direct link to the Indianapolis 500."

Qualifying on road and street courses will retain its current format in 2008, with single-lap, single-car qualifying for all cars followed by a ten-minute shootout by the fastest six drivers to determine the pole position.

The Indy Pro Series will also adopt a new qualifying process for all oval tracks, with a cumulative two-lap qualifying attempt.