Kawasaki's Mickael Maschio won the Spanish 125cc GP after a race long battle with the Swiss KTM rider Phillip Dupasquier, the Kawasaki rider moved to the top of the points table after Steve Ramon (KTM) winner of the series opener in Holland crashed on the start straight and could only finish 22nd.

The lead changed several times with Maschio and Dupasquier producing a very exciting race, Maschio retook the Swiss rider within seconds of him making a pass.

"I didn't want him to get away, once I let him by to take some of the pressure off me but I knew that in could win, I won my first ever GP race here many years ago so its great to repeat that result."

The first Honda rider to pass the chequered flag was American Jeff Dement, in eighth place, riding out of his Italian base.

125cc Race Results:

1. MASCHIO Mickael /FRA /KAWASAKI /38:58.5/25
2. DUPASQUIER Philippe /SUI/KTM /39:05.1/22
3. EGGENS Erik/NED /KTM /39:18.4/20
4. SEGUY Luigi/FRA /YAMAHA /39:19.8/18
5. PUZAR Alessandro/ITA/HUSQVARNA /39:21.0/16
6. CAPS Patrick /BEL /KTM /39:24.3/15
7. TOWNLEY Ben/NZL /KTM /39:37.5/14
8. DEMENT Jeff/USA /HONDA /39:44.9/13
9. LETTELIER Antoine/FRA /KTM /39:46.9/12
10. RATTRAY Tyla /RSA /KTM /39:49.8/11
11. DE REUVER Marc /NED /YAMAHA /39:55.2/10
12. STRIJBOS Kevin/BEL /SUZUKI /40:05.3/9
13. CAMERLENGO Erik/ITA /HONDA /40:10.0/8
14. VAN DAELE Marvin /BEL /YAMAHA /40:13.7/7
15. LEOK Tanel/EST/KTM /40:18.0/6

Points Standing following Round 2:

2. EGGENS Erik/NED /KTM /40
4. CAPS Patrick /BEL /KTM /29
5. DUPASQUIER Philippe /SUI/KTM /29
6. PUZAR Alessandro/ITA/HUSQVARNA /28
7. RAMON Steve/BEL /KTM /25
8. RATTRAY Tyla /RSA /KTM /24
9. LETTELIER Antoine/FRA /KTM /22
10. DEMENT Jeff/USA /HONDA /21
11. METCALFE Brett/AUS /KTM /20
12. SEGUY Luigi/FRA /YAMAHA /20
13. VAN DAELE Marvin /BEL /YAMAHA /16
15. VAN REES Remy/NED /KTM /11