Jason Bright has rejoined fellow Holden driver Greg Murphy on the V8 Supercar Championship Series contenders list going into the final round following the amendment of results from the third race of the Tasmanian Triple Challenge by the Confederation of Australian Motorsport.

The BigPond Grand Finale at Eastern Creek in Sydney from 2-5 December will now decide whether Bright or Murphy can overhaul series leader and defending champion Marcos Ambrose in the final event of the 2005 V8 Supercar Championship Series.

The Tasmanian results were amended to award WPS Racing's David Besnard the third race from PWR Performance Products' Bright and Holden Racing Team's Mark Skaife

As a result Bright was elevated from 18th to 8th position for the Tasmanian event at Symmons Plains Raceway, giving him an additional 36 points for the round and the championship.

It elevates him from fourth to third in the championship on 1816 points behind Kmart Racing's Murphy, who lost six points having initially been awarded second in the third Tasmanian race, on 1825. Pirtek Racing's Ambrose remains the championship leader on 1982 points.

Revised Series Points from the Tasmanian Triple Challenge - top ten: (Previous points in brackets)

1.Russell Ingall 164 (170)
2.Greg Murphy 160 (166)
3.Steven Richards 152 (158)
4.Craig Lowndes 148 (154)
5.Cameron McConville 140 (146)
6.Steven Johnson 136 (142)
7.Steve Ellery 134 (140)
8.Jason Bright 126 (90)
9.Marcos Ambrose 126 (126)
10.Rick Kelly 126 (126)

Revised Championship Points - top ten: (Previous points in brackets):

1.Marcos Ambrose 1982 (1982)
2.Greg Murphy 1825 (1831)
3.Jason Bright 1816 (1780)
4.Russell Ingall 1776 (1782)
5.Rick Kelly 1701 (1701)
6.Steven Richards 1661 (1667)
7.Todd Kelly 1513 (1513)
8.Jason Bargwanna 1402 (1406)
9.John Bowe 1400 (1406)
10.Garth Tander 1320 (1320)