By Matthew Agius

The annual V8 Supercar Gala Awards Dinner has been held only days after the end of the 2007 series, recognising the very best contributors to what was one of the closest championships in history.

Newly crowned V8 Supercar Drivers' Champion, Garth Tander, was presented his 2007 trophy in front of the entire series family.

Also presented their trophies were Team Vodafone drivers, Jamie Whincup (runner-up) and Craig Lowndes (second runner-up).

The Vodafone pair was also presented their Peter Brock trophies for winning their second successive Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

Despite narrowly finishing second in the championship, Whincup was honoured as the latest recipient of the Barry Sheene medal for the category's best and fairest driver.

The award recognises the driver who shows outstanding leadership and positively represents the championship on and off the race track.

Garth Tander's Toll HSV Dealer Team was again presented with the Teams' Championship, successfully defending the title it won in 2006, with Holden again winning the Manufacturers' title.

Two events were presented awards, with the Bahrain Desert 400 a surprise recipient - claiming the Event of the Year award in just its second year as a championship round.

The Clipsal 500 Adelaide was ineligible to contest the Event of the Year award, due to its induction into the series Hall of Fame, instead having its volunteer group recognised as the best in the championship.

Tony D'Alberto won two awards - officially recognised as the winner of both the Fujitsu V8 Supercar Series, and the Privateers Cup.

Dale Wood also won the Mike Kable Young Gun Award for his Fujitsu Series performances in Greg Murphy Racing's VZ Commodore.

After several blistering displays of qualifying pace, Mark Winterbottom was presented with the Armor All Pole Position award, for his four pole positions won at Pukekohe, Sandown, Bathurst and Bahrain.

Having taken Tasman Motorsport's second franchise from twenty-sixth in 2006 to thirteenth in 2007, Greg Murphy was presented the Sidchrome Most Improved award - a positive end to what proved to be a tough season for the team.

Jim Beam Racing won the Armor All Best Presented Team award, whilst Australian Touring Car legend, Harry Firth, was inducted into the series Hall of Fame.

The 2008 V8 Supercar Championship Series will start at the Adelaide Parklands Circuit from February 21-24 for the Clipsal 500 Adelaide.



Loading Comments...