Greg Murphy has won the 2007 Sidchrome Award for Tasman Motorsport, despite a difficult end to the team's V8 Supercar campaign at Phillip Island this weekend.

The four-time Bathurst winner's car rose fourteen places from its finishing position at the hands of Andrew Jones in 2006 - gaining most improved status for the ever-improving Holden team.

Murphy had a difficult weekend however, being sent off the circuit as a result of an altercation with Russell Ingall, and ending what was shaping as a promising weekend - having claimed tenth in the opening race, yesterday.

"We struggled this weekend and it was extremely annoying to get punted in the last race of the year, but this Rockstar Tasman Motorsport team is moving forward," said Murphy.

"We've had some frustrating struggles throughout the year, but we've also made some strong progress and got a lot of things happening for 2008 and beyond and that's exciting."

Jason Richards failed to score points this weekend after a string of unlucky results saw him slide from contention.

Richards was running third in race one, before exiting the track at high speed and failing to finish in the top fifteen.

Broken throttle ended Richards charge today, but he is looking forward to more improvement in 2008 - having shown his ability this year, to contest for race wins.

"We broke the throttle pedal linkage today which brought us to a stop, and that's a disappointing way to end the year," said Richards.

"This year has seen a huge effort from everyone within the team and with all the developments going on behind the scenes with new car builds, new dynos, etc, we're all excited about next year."

Tasman Motorsport has certainly improved its consistency in 2007, rising to seventh in the Teams' Championship and claiming fourth at Bathurst in October.

Both Murphy and Richards will be looking to start their 2008 campaign strongly, when the Clipsal 500 Adelaide kicks off next year's championship from late February.