Rallye Sanremo is the Italian tyre manufacturer Pirelli's home event. Enjoying an exclusive tyre partnership with the 555 Subaru World Rally team in the 2003 WRC season, Pirelli has been active in the sport of rallying for many years before 1973 when the current format was established.

- On it's debut WRC season back in 1973, Pirelli scored a win in Poland with Fiat and another in Austria with BMW. Including Petter Solberg's victory in Australia last month, the total amount of victories scored by Pirelli in the WRC is 128.

- Pirelli's wins have come with nine different manufacturers: Fiat, BMW, Lancia, Opel, Toyota, Ford, Audi, VW and most recently Subaru.

- ...And with 25 different drivers: Warmbold, Pinto, Munari, Andruet, Waldegaard, Rohrl, Alen, Mikkola, Bacchelli, Salonen, Darniche, Vatanen, Blomqvist, Kankkunen, Toivonen, Biasion, Eriksson, Sainz, Schwarz, Cunico, Colin McRae, Liatti, Burns, Makinen and Solberg.

- Pirelli's 100th victory came at the 1997 Safari Rally, when Colin McRae won with a Subaru Impreza WRC. The car didn't receive a single puncture over the entire event.

- Pirelli has been the tyre choice of 18 World Rally title holders. 11 Manufacturers' (five with Lancia 1974, '75, '76, 83 and '87, three with Fiat in 1977, '78 and '80 and three with Subaru in 1995, '96 and '97) and seven Drivers' (Rohrl 1980 / Vatanen 1981 / Kankkunen 1987 / Sainz 1990 and '92 / C. McRae 1995 / Burns 2001).


Loading Comments...