Tarran Mackenzie secured an emotional win, completing his comeback from injury in style in another 1-2 for the McAMS Yamaha team in race two at Brands Hatch, round five of the championship.

It was a true, gritty champions performance from pole from the Scottish rider, digging in after being briefly passed by Bradley Ray.


   British Superbikes Brands Hatch Race Results (2) 
1Tarran MackenzieGBRMcAMS Yamaha28.43.344s
2Jason O'HalloranAUSMcAMS Yamaha+1.163s
3Tommy BridewellGBROxford Products Racing Ducati+2.076s
4Bradley RayGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing Yamaha+5.490s
5Leon HaslamGBRVisiontrack Kawasaki+7.315s
6Rory SkinnerGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki+7.321s
7Kyle RydeGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing Yamaha+12.468s
8Tom SykesGBRMCE Ducati+20.060s
9Danny KentGBRBuildbase Suzuki+20.420s
10Glenn IrwinGBRHonda Racing UK+22.265s
11Tom NeaveGBRHonda Racing UK+24.406s
12Peter HickmanGBRFHO Racing BMW+26.073s
13Takumi TakahashiJAPHonda Racing UK+28.158s
14Josh OwensGBRCDH Racing Kawasaki+28.914s
15Danny BuchanGBRSYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+30.721s
16Chrissy RouseGBRCrowe Performance BMW+34.524s
17Luke HopkinsGBRBlack Onyx Security Honda+39.673s
18Dean HarrisonGBRDAO Racing Kawasaki+39.815s
19Storm StaceyGBRTeam LKQ Euro Parts Kawasaki+40.320s
20Leon JeacockGBRSpecsavers Suzuki+47.508s
21Liam DelvesGBRCDH Racing Kawasaki+1m04.710s
22James EastGBRKawasaki - NP Racing+1m06.854s
23Luke MosseyGBRTAG Racing Honda9 laps
24Ryo MizunoJAPHonda Racing UK9 laps
25Josh BrookesAUSMCE Ducati5 laps
26Dan JonesGBRIforce BMW4 laps
27Ryan VickersGBRFHO Racing BMW with Attis Sports3 laps
28Lee JacksonGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki2 laps
29Christian IddonGBRBuildbase Suzuki2 laps
30Andrew IrwinGBRSYNETIQ BMW Motorrad0 laps

Once back in front again he didn’t look back and as his rivals fought for position and made themselves hard to pass he was able to pull out a gap, which the # 1 plated rider managed to perfection from the front, leading over the line by a comfortable 1.163s.

Mackenzie’s fourteenth career win is just his first of the season following his absence from the first two rounds as he recovered from his pre-season injuries.

The McAMS rider also set the fastest lap, so will look to capitalise from pole for the final race of the weekend. The race was slower than in the sprint and the riders described conditions as 'greasy' after the race.

O’Halloran safe in second

Jason O’Halloran was the sprint race winner on Saturday and topped warm-up, but found himself too far back to match his charging team-mate after getting stuck behind Bradley Ray as the gap to first increased.
The race was made all the more difficult for the Australian after his dashboard malfunctioned, leaving him with a blank screen and no data.

Tommy Bridewell backed up his podium appearance on Saturday with a similar performance. The Oxford Products Ducati rider this time got to start in the lead group after qualifying second and held his own amongst the Yamahas passing a fading Ray around the midway point after dropping to fourth himself to complete the rostrum.

It was Ray who again missed out on spraying the champagne as he seemed to struggle for grip and stay upright on the Rich Energy OMG Yamaha.

Leon Haslam converted his best qualifying of the year, sitting on the grid in fifth to a fifth place finish as the top Kawasaki for VisionTrack - after slipping to seventh he rallied and fought back all the way to the end, pipping Rory Skinner to the chequered flag.

The suspension changes seemed to make all the difference as Skinner was forced to settle for sixth on the Cheshire Mouldings FS-3 Kawasaki.

Kyle Ryde was also passed by the former BSB champion, but was clear of the next group on track behind him on the Rich Energy OMG Yamaha.

They were lead over the line by Tom Skyes, almost eight seconds later, for MCE Ducati.
The Superbike world champion had attention from Danny Kent, who was fighting hard for position for Buildbase Suzuki on his way to ninth.

A distant Glenn Irwin completed the top ten as top Honda.

His team-mate Tom Neave was next to finish in eleventh, his best finish of the season to date.

Peter Hickman was twelfth for FHO Racing BMW, the top finisher for the manufacturer.

Old BSB Brands Hatch Lap Record: Josh Brookes - Yamaha - 1m 24.873s (2017)
New BSB Brands Hatch Lap Record: Jason O’Halloran - Yamaha - 1m 24.433s (2022)

Race one result
1:Jason O’Halloran
2:Tarran Mackenzie
3:Tommy Bridewell

2021 Race Winners:

Round 3 
Race 1: Tarran Mackenzie
Race 2: Jason O’Halloran
Race 3: Christian Iddon

Round 11 (The Showdown)
Race 1: Tarran Mackenzie
Race 2: Tommy Bridewell
Race 3: Jason O’Halloran

Takumi Takahashi (Honda Racing UK) collected his best result of the year in 13th after beating Josh Owens (Rapid CDH Racing Kawasaki) over the line. The final point went to Danny Buchan (SYNETIQ BMW Motorrad) in 15th.

Chrissy Rouse made up an incredible 14 places from 30th on the grid just to miss out in 16th for Crowe Performance BMW.

The Race was peppered with crashes with Lee Jackson recording his first DNF of the season as he fell in sync with Christian Iddon. Josh Brookes had a near identical crash at the same turn just two laps later.

Andrew Irwin was first out and his fall ran Hickman out onto the grass, a big contibutor to his twelfth place finish.

Where does the result leave the championship standings?

Jason O’Halloran  takes over from Bradley Ray at the top of the table, with a total of 245 and a three point advantage.

First place pulls Tarran Mackenzie closer to the showdown places, now up to eleventh overall on 80 points.

Josh Brookes holds the final spot in the top eight despite his DNF, with Danny Buchan unable to take advantage after picking up just one point.