As their rivals faded away it was a last lap battle royale which decided the third and final race at Brands Hatch, with Tarran Mackenzie coming out in front to finish round five with a second win.

Mackenzie, who became the sixth different winner of the season courtesy of his victory in race two, was in front, Jason O’Halloran stalking behind hoping to pounce on an error.

   British Superbikes Brands Hatch Race Results (3) 
1Tarran MackenzieGBRMcAMS Yamaha28.45.305s
2Jason O'HalloranAUSMcAMS Yamaha+0.037s
3Glenn IrwinGBRHonda Racing UK+3.543s
4Bradley RayGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing Yamaha+3.818s
5Tommy BridewellGBROxford Products Racing Ducati+5.009s
6Leon HaslamGBRVisiontrack Kawasaki+5.139s
7Kyle RydeGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing Yamaha+7.531s
8Peter HickmanGBRFHO Racing BMW+11.754s
9Rory SkinnerGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki+16.043s
10Lee JacksonGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki+16.350s
11Christian IddonGBRBuildbase Suzuki+16.582s
12Andrew IrwinGBRSYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+16.609s
13Danny BuchanGBRSYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+18.069s
14Takumi TakahashiJAPHonda Racing UK+21.734s
15Chrissy RouseGBRCrowe Performance BMW+26.606s
16Josh OwensGBRCDH Racing Kawasaki+26.663s
17Luke MosseyGBRTAG Racing Honda+26.826s
18Luke HopkinsGBRBlack Onyx Security Honda+40.261s
19Dean HarrisonGBRDAO Racing Kawasaki+40.752s
20Storm StaceyGBRTeam LKQ Euro Parts Kawasaki+40.822s
21Ryo MizunoJAPHonda Racing UK+42.564s
22Leon JeacockGBRSpecsavers Suzuki+42.646s
23James EastGBRKawasaki - NP Racing+45.182s
24Tom NeaveGBRHonda Racing UK15 laps
25Danny KentGBRBuildbase Suzuki14 laps
26Dan JonesGBRIforce BMW11 las
27Liam DelvesGBRCDH Racing Kawasaki7 laps
28Josh BrookesAUSMCE Ducati0 laps
29Tom SykesGBRMCE DucatiDNS
30Ryan VickersGBRFHO Racing BMW with Attis SportsDNS

The #1 plate was smooth and faultless out front so the Australian saved up his big final move heading into the final turns, starting the lunge at Stirlings, with the pair side by side coming out of Clearways for a grandstand photo finish.

Mackenzie, who had started on pole once again thanks to his earlier performance, fought back to cross just 0.037s ahead of his team-mate.

O’Halloran kept pushing despite feeling a fall coming twice on the exhilarating final lap to take second, the MCAMS riders in 1-2 formation for all three races this weekend, a first for the Yamaha team.

Glenn Irwin stages podium return

Glenn Irwin had lead for much of the race before being swallowed by the duo, who pulled the pin on him once out in front. The Honda Racing rider fell back into a battle for third with Bradley Ray which he was determined to win, to secure his first podium visit since he dominated the opening weekend with three wins.

Ray found himself fourth again, which limited his access to the podium points for the showdown, despite some bike changes on the Rich Energy OMG Yamaha to try and save his rostrum form, which has deserted him when he needs it most.

Oxford Products Ducati’s Tommy Bridewell couldn’t make another podium comeback so this time settled for a solid fifth, pressured all the way by Leon Haslam, who turned his further improved fourth on the grid into sixth in the race for VisionTrack Kawasaki.

Kyle Ryde was a lonely seventh on the second Rich Energy Yamaha bike, not able to catch the duo ahead but clear of Peter Hickman in eighth, a return to the form he was showing before Knockhill for FHO Racing BMW.

An early error saw Rory Skinner drop well outside of the top ten, but the Cheshire Holdings FS-3 Kawasaki rider fought back to claim ninth after passing Lee Jackson (MCE Ducati) late in the race.

Christian Iddon made up the most places from the grid positions, finishing eleventh after a determined run on the Buildbase Suzuki, thirteen places higher than he started. His team-mate Danny Kent was one of several riders to pull into the pits.

Andrew Irwin put his earlier fall behind him, back in the points in twelfth for SYNTEIQ BMW Motorrad, after a close finish with Iddon.

Old BSB Brands Hatch Lap Record: Josh Brookes - Yamaha - 1m 24.873s (2017)
New BSB Brands Hatch Lap Record: Jason O’Halloran - Yamaha - 1m 24.433s (2022)

Race One Result:
1:Jason O’Halloran
2:Tarran Mackenzie
3:Tommy Bridewell

Race Two Result:
1:Tarran Mackenzie
2:Jason O’Halloran
3:Tommy Bridewell

2021 Race Winners:

Round 3 
Race 1: Tarran Mackenzie
Race 2: Jason O’Halloran
Race 3: Christian Iddon

Round 11 (The Showdown)
Race 1: Tarran Mackenzie
Race 2: Tommy Bridewell
Race 3: Jason O’Halloran


Takumi Takahashi (Honda Racing UK) was 14th. Chrissy Rouse said on the grid he’d like to score a point at Brands Hatch, which he did, keeping both Josh Owens ans Luke Mossey behind him in the approach to the chequered flag.

Tom Sykes left he grid five minutes before the start of the race, there was an issue with smoke seen at the bottom of his MCE Ducati on the out lap. He was not the only big name to endure an early exit with Josh Brookes also failing to register a lap.

Ryan Vickers was absent for the final race after sustaining a small fracture to his right hand earlier in the day.

Where does that leave the championship and the podium points?

After taking over at the top with his race two result, second again cements Jason O’Halloran’s position as the new title leader after Brands Hatch.

The #22 now has a total of 265 and 37 podium points to his name. That takes him 10 points clear in the title hunt, with Ray also having less podium points with 30 after his two fourth places on Sunday.

Lee Jackson may not have had his strongest weekend but he remains third overall, but Glenn Irewin who is sixth has two more podium points to his credit with 18. Roey Skinner remains fourth and Kyle Ryde fifth.

The final two showdown shots are now occupied by Tommy Bridewell in seventh and Tarran Mackenzie, who displaces Danny Buchan following his Brands Hatch comeback.