UPDATE: Andrew Irwin was later penalised by race direction with a time demotion issued via a ride through equivalent time penalty (20 seconds), a three position grid penalty for the final race and two penalty points added to his license.

Peter Hickman held on after making an early move to the front to become the tenth different BSB winner this season in race two at Brands Hatch.

Glenn Irwin got the holeshot off the line, but it was Hickman who had the pace to run at the front as his rivals tripped each other up behind to take victory in the second race at Brands Hatch.

Moving to the lead at the start of the fourth lap the FHO Racing rider soaked up the pressure when he looked caught, blocking from the front, then built an advantage as Glenn Irwin, his brother Andy and Danny Buchan began a late fight for the final podium spots behind.

That gave the 35 year-old to pick up his first win of the season by 0.622s and also allowed the opportunity for Jason O’Halloran to make up the last of the distance he had to the group after chasing the leaders down.

British Superbike Brands Hatch (Showdown) - Race results (2)
1Peter HickmanGBRFHO Racing BMW28m 41.278s
2Danny BuchanGBRSYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+0.622s
3Glenn IrwinGBRHonda Racing UK+2.702s
4Kyle RydeGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing Yamaha+13.381s
5Tommy BridewellGBROxford Products Racing Ducati+13.494s
6Danny KentGBRBuildbase Suzuki+13.902s
7Christian IddonGBRBuildbase Suzuki+15.181s
8Andrew IrwinGBRSYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+15.241s
9Charlie NesbittGBRBuildbase Suzuki+16.426s
10Josh BrookesAUSMCE Ducati+18.912s
11Tom SykesGBRMCE Ducati+20.511s
12Josh OwensGBRRapid CDH Racing Kawasaki+20.798s
13Dean HarrisonGBRDAO Racing Kawasaki+25.461s
14Takumi TakahashiJAPHonda Racing UK+25.956s
15Storm StaceyGBRTeam LKQ Euro Parts Kawasaki+26.215s
16Davey ToddGBRMilenco by Padgetts Motorcycles Honda+27.826s
17Tom NeaveGBRHonda Racing UK+27.918s
18Ryo MizunoJAPHonda Racing UK+37.811s
19Leon JeacockGBRSpecsavers Suzuki+43.226s
20Jason O'HalloranAUSMcAMS YamahaDNF
21Eemeli LahtiFINPowerslide Racing SuzukiDNF
22Liam DelvesGBRRapid CDH Racing KawasakiDNF
23Jack KennedyIRLMar-Train Racing YamahaDNF
24Ryan VickersGBRFHO Racing BMW with Attis SportsDNF
25Leon HaslamGBRVisiontrack KawasakiDNF
26Bradley RayGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing YamahaDNF

Danny Buchan kept trouble free to make it a BMW 1-2 with the Synetiq Motorrad team after seemingly have more grip then his rivals, while polesitter Glenn Irwin risked several wobbles to finish third.

Andrew Irwin tried to make his bike fit around O’Halloran’s at turn four, a move which was investigated by race direction as it left the already battered and bruised Australian in the gravel again for the fifth time in three rounds after his handlebars were hit. The McAMS Yamaha was left looking decidedly second hand.

All that drama allowed Kyle Ryde to finish fourth as he lead the next group over the line, after bike issues yesterday, the OMG Yamaha rider was again having woes, dropping back in the race with a footpeg issue leaving his leg dangling.

Bridewell bounces back

An electrical issue on the grid saw Tommy Bridewell removed from second. Frantic work by the Oxford Products team saw him just able to make a pit lane start.

From stone dead last, the fightback was rapid. Bridewell hit the points positions with only seven laps run. The #46 didn’t stop there and continued to slice past every bike he came to. Hos focus and determination saw him reach the battle for sixth, which after the Irwin/O’Halloran drama became a battle for fourth, with Bridewell taking fifth.

Danny Kent was also in the same group with Ryde and Bridewell, and although last of the trio, sixth is still a best finish this season on the Buildbase Suzuki.

It was a strong day for the Buildbase squad in general, with Christian Iddon next to take the chequered flag on his return form injury and Charlie Nesbitt, who they retained and ran a third bike for after his Donington performance sitting in for Iddon, taking ninth.

Andrew Irwin fell in between for eighth after running straight on after his contact with the McAMS bike.

Josh Brookes completed the top ten on the MCE Ducati, over two seconds clear of team-mate Tom Sykes, who finished eleventh.

Josh Owens (Rapid CDH Racing Kawasaki) equalled his best result of the season, set in race one, with back-to-back twelfth places.

The remaining points went to Dean Harrison (DAO Raing Kawasaki) in 13th Honda’s Takumi Takahashi in 14th and Storm Stacey (Team LKQ Euro Car Parts Kawasaki) in 15th.

Davey Todd, who was presented with a gold helmet to celebrate his championship win before the race, only just missed out on the Padgetts bike in 16th.


Early exit for Bradley Ray


Hopes were high that Bradley Ray would sign off in style with a win a Brands, a track where he is yet to make the podium. Relaxed after taking the title in the sprint race, the rich Energy OMG Yamaha rider, now with a number one plate, was immediately set on making up laces and looked ready to pounce at the favoured overtake spot of Paddock Hill Bend, but instead the corner saw him slide out of contention with just one lap completed.

Ray was not the only rider making an early exit.

A frustrated Leon Haslam was soon pulling into the pits, just two laps later.

Ryan Vickers started from the back of the grid following his race one collision with Christian Iddon at the end of the race, having amassed too many penalty points this season. He later retired from the race.

Jack Kennedy also failed to make the finish, with Liam Dellves,Leon Jeacock and Eemili Lahti all classified a lap down.

Lee Jackson joined the Showdown riders who are absent after breaking several bones in yesterday’s crash. Team-mate Rory Skinner and Tarran Mackenzie remain out through injury.

The race again began with a procession lap of Chrissy Rouse’s winning bike and 2022 bike in memory and celebration of his life.

Brands Hatch Statistics

BSB Brands Hatch Lap Record - Josh Brookes (2017) Yamaha - 1m 24.873s

Qualifying: Glenn Irwin

Race One:

1: Glenn Irwin

2: Peter Hickman

3: Andrew Irwin

Round Five At Brands Hatch 2022


Pole: Jason O’Halloran

Race One: Jason O’Halloran

Race Two: Tarran Mackenzie

Race Three: Tarran Mackenzie

2021 at Brands Hatch

Round Three:


Pole: Tarran Mackenzie

Race One (sprint): Tarran Mackenzie

Race Two: Jason O’Halloran

Race Three: Christian Iddon

Round Eleven(Showdown):


Pole: Luke Mossey

Race One (sprint): Tarran Mackenzie

Race Two: Tarran Mackenzie

Race Three: Tarran Mackenzie

Donington Park, Round Ten:


Pole: Jason O’Halloran

Race One: Tom Sykes

Race Two: Tom Sykes

Race Three: Bradley Ray


Where does that leave the championship?


With Bradley Ray having the title in the bag after race one, attention turns to who will claim the runner-up spot, impressing in contract silly season, and who will be the best of the rest and finish top outside of the Showdown and win the Rider’s Cup.

A podium sees Glenn Irwin look more assured of taking second overall, with Tommy Bridewell going to the limit to keep in contention for the place.

Peter Hickman’s win sees his advantage over Danny Buchan extend outside of the showdown, the gap between the two now at 16 points.