The Bahrain Grand Prix is gearing up for its 13th edition in Formula 1 and could be set to host an all-time classic if China is anything to go by.

In fairness to the Sakhir circuit, it has already hosted some standout races since joining the F1 calendar in 2004 including ones too hot for a certain Australian, an F1 debut to remember for a world champion and one race to forget for both Pastor Maldonado and Esteban Gutierrez.

Check out these memorable moments from over the years at the Bahrain Grand Prix.

2005: Hot! Hot! Hot!

F1's second visit to the Gulf state saw temperature records smashed with a staggering 41oC recorded on race day. Some drivers took to unique methods to keep cool with Mark Webber pouring a bottle of water into his helmet during a pit stop on his way to fifth place for Williams.

That race also saw one of the oldest unbeaten lap records still on the active F1 calendar when Pedro de le Rosa produced a 1m 31.447s which to this day remains unmatched.

2006: From first corner spin to points on debut for Rosberg

A fresh-faced Nico Rosberg made his F1 race debut at the Bahrain International Circuit for Williams and produced a race of two halves.

A smart start from 12th on the grid was ruined by a rookie first corner spin which dropped him to last place and also required a pit stop. Then came an almighty charge to seventh place to score points on his F1 debut. Still, his feat got rather overshadowed by Kimi Raikkonen's 22nd-to-third charge for McLaren after his qualifying woes.

But a little known fact: Rosberg has won the Bahrain Grand Prix (2016) while Raikkonen has secured eight podium finishes without any of them resulting in a victory.

2010: Alonso wins on Ferrari debut

Oh how Fernando Alonso might be wishing for a day similar to this from 2010... no matter how unlikely.

The Spanish driver looked set for a tough battle against Sebastian Vettel for the race win after gaping Felipe Massa but was gifted the win when the German driver suffered a mechanical issue 20 laps from the end, allowing Alonso to stroll to victory and become the seventh driver to win on debut for the Prancing Horse.

2014: Gutierrez flipped by Maldonado in 'race of the decade'

A race that had it all. F1's 900th Grand Prix, Bahrain's first run under floodlights and an thrilling battle for the win between Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg. After Hamilton got the jump on his Mercedes team-mate into turn one the British driver gradually built a lead, only to see it instantly wiped out by a safety car period.

It was caused by a dramatic collision between Pastor Maldonado and Esteban Gutierrez which resulted in the Mexican's Sauber being speared into the air and rolled over. In the 10-lap sprint to the chequered flag Hamilton held off Rosberg as Sergio Perez claimed third place.

Breathing a huge sigh of relief as both Mercedes made it to the chequered flag intact, technical boss Paddy Lowe hailed it 'the race of the decade' which he feels had a bit of everything.

2016: Hamilton and Bottas clash

One to watch out for in 2017. Heading into the first turn Lewis Hamilton was tagged by the Williams of Valtteri Bottas which spun around the British driver and dropped him down the order. Bottas was slapped with a drive-through penalty for the incident but the damage was done as Rosberg eased to victory ahead of Hamilton.

Now both at Mercedes Hamilton and Bottas will be under orders to avoid one another.