Kevin Windham and wet Anaheim weather combined to topple the likes of Chad Reed, Ricky Carmichael and James 'Bubba' Stewart in Saturday's opening round of the 2005 AMA Supercross championship.

The event was billed as the most anticipated Supercross race of all time - thanks to the dream line-up of past and present Superstars - but the super slick track conditions meant that little could be concluded ahead of next weekend's second round at Bank One Ballpark, Phoenix.

Due to the heavy rain, both qualifying and the main event were condensed - and the final began with Amsoil Honda rider Windham following new Suzuki rider Carmichael, the all-time most winning AMA motocross rider, through turn one.

Carmichael would lead the first four laps before crashing - allowing Windham ahead - and it would be the 2004 championship runner-up who eventually took the chequered flag on a chaotic night which saw nearly every rider, including Windham, crash or stall.

"It was chaos tonight," confirmed Kevin. "With about three laps to go, I went down, but I managed to get it back up and get the win. It was tough for my mechanic; he had his hands full."

Carmichael eventually finished third, behind Windham's team-mate Mike LaRocco.

"These little legs of mine are tired," said Carmichael. "I kept trying and I knew I had it in me to get my Suzuki in front. These are some loyal fans out here."

Ricky, who still leads the World SX GP championship after three rounds, then added: "I am going to donate my $1,500 holeshot check to the victims of the tsunami in Southeast Asia."

Meanwhile, Kawasaki mounted Stewart finished his first 250cc 'main' in 5th place, and ahead of the likes of Travis Pastrana (10th), defending champ Reed (16th) and returning Supercross hero Jeremy McGrath (20th after breaking his clutch).

In the 125cc class reigning 125cc west coast champion Ivan Tedesco led the pack through turn one, before KTM mounted Nathan Ramsey, a 125cc Supercross champion in 1999, passed him on lap three and led the remainder of the muddy main event.

"I made the change to the KTM and things are going unbelievably good," said Ramsey. "We will be back here in a couple weeks, and I hope to make this thing really shine. Thanks for all the fans who were cheering us on."

Results - 250cc THQ AMA Supercross Series:
1. Kevin Windham - Honda
2. Mike LaRocco - Honda
3. Ricky Carmichael - Suzuki
4. Sebastien Tortelli - Suzuki
5. James Stewart - Kawasaki
6. Nick Wey - Honda
7. David Vuillemin - Yamaha
8. Jeff Gibson - Honda
9. Ernesto Fonseca - Honda
10. Travis Pastrana - Suzuki
Results - 125cc THQ AMA Supercross Series:
1. Nathan Ramsey - Honda
2. Josh Woods - Honda
3. Akira Narita - Honda
4. Thomas Hahn - Honda
5. Steve Lamson - Honda
6. Ryan Sipes - Suzuki
7. Danny Smith - Yamaha
8. Ivan Tedesco - Kawasaki
9. Brett Metcalfe - Yamaha
10. Richie Owens - Yamaha