To capture his second victory of the season - both in Anaheim - Reed took the lead early during lap one and never relinquished it, going on to see off the challenge of Yamaha's Josh Hill by 6.911 seconds. It was the Oregon native's first podium finish after stealing second place on lap three from Mike Alessi. Kevin Windham of Centreville, Mississippi finished third on his Honda.

Californian Alessi won the $1,500 Progressive Holeshot Award on his Suzuki, with Reed coming through in second aboard his Yamaha on a track layout reminiscent of the 1986 Anaheim race.

"I felt awesome out there," enthused Reed, who now leads the championship standings with 72 points following his success on 'Throwback Night' at Angel Stadium, Tampa. "The track was a lot of fun; I had a ball with it. My bike is a lot of fun to ride, and I just need to go out and race and try to get wins."

Going out and racing was something Reed's key rival, Kawasaki rider Stewart, was unable to do. The points' leader heading into the meeting, Stewart had injured his left knee during his win in Phoenix and, after evaluating the injury following an earlier practice session, elected together with his team not to compete at Anaheim.

The Western Regional AMA Supercross Race, meanwhile, was claimed by Ryan Dungey. The Minnesota ace battled Kawasaki's Austin Stroupe aboard his Suzuki early on before seizing the lead for good on lap six.

Californian Stroupe took the $1,000 Progressive Holeshot Award, but was unable to hold off a hard-charging Dungey, who took the chequered flag 1.279 seconds ahead of Yamaha star Broc Hepler who moved into the runner-up spot on lap ten. Stroupe held on for third place.

"I was just trying to be consistent," reflected Dungey after his second win of the season, like Reed making it a double Anaheim success. "The track was really choppy and I made a couple of mistakes - I just tried to not make the same mistake twice. We are just doing our programme and trying to be as consistent as we can be."

The result means Dungey retains his championship lead, with Hepler taking over second place.

AMA Supercross Class Results, Anaheim 2:
1. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha
2. Joshua Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Yamaha
3. Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda
4. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki
5. Ivan Tedesco, Tallahassee, Fla., Honda
6. Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki
7. Nathan Ramsey, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha
8. Josh Hansen, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha
9. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda
10. Charles Summey, Huntersville, N.C., Yamaha

AMA Supercross Class Season Standings:
1. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha, 72
2. Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda, 56
3. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki, 48
4. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Kawasaki, 47
5. Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki, 46
6. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 43
7. Ivan Tedesco, Tallahassee, Fla., Honda, 38
8. Nathan Ramsey, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha, 38
9. Joshua Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Yamaha, 37
10. Josh Hansen, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha , 27
Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Results, Anaheim 2:
1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki
2. Broc Hepler, Kittanning, Pa., Yamaha
3. Austin Stroupe, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki
4. Dan Reardon, Murrieta, Calif., Honda
5. Brett Metcalfe, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki
6. Robert Kiniry, La Fayette, N.Y., Honda
7. Billy Laninovich, Fort Worth, Texas, KTM
8. Gavin Gracyk, Blissfield, Ohio, Honda
9. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM
10. Thomas Hahn, Alvord, Texas, Kawasaki

Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings:
1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 72
2. Broc Hepler, Kittanning, Pa., Yamaha, 50
3. Dan Reardon, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 49
4. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 47
5. Jason Lawrence, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha, 38
6. Brett Metcalfe, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 38
7. Austin Stroupe, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki, 36
8. Tommy Hahn, Alvord, Texas, Kawasaki, 33
9. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Honda, 31
10. Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Yamaha, 30

KTM Junior Supercross Challenge:
1. Miles McDonald, Long Beach, Calif., KTM
2. Derek Cleland, Huntington Beach, Calif., KTM
3. Jake Oltman, Lincoln, Neb., KTM
4. Tyler Dollohan, Glenwood Springs, Colo., KTM
5. Chase Guesman, Las Vegas, Nev., KTM
6. Matthew Blackburn, Poway, Calif., KTM
7. Garret Brown, Ramona, Calif., KTM
8. Zachary Lengner, Dripping Springs, Texas, KTM
9. Mathieu Jolicoeur, St. Georges, Quebec, Canada, KTM
10. Adam Turner, Torrance, Calif., KTM
11. Blake Best, Grand Coolee, Wash., KTM
12. Noah Pennington, Rancho Santa Margarita, Calif., KTM
13. Trevor Lewis, Scottsdale, Ariz., KTM
14. Jaden Scrimsher, Temecula, Calif., KTM
15. Dallas Dussault, Reno, Nev., KTM