MotoGP penalty points are no longer erased at the end of each season, but instead remain in place for one calendar year.

With that in mind, these are the MotoGP riders that will start the 2015 season with at least one penalty point against their name.

Race Direction can impose between 1 and 10 points for each infringement. Points accumulate with automatic sanctions kicking in once a rider reaches 4 points (start next race from last place), 7 points (start next race from pit lane) and 10 points (disqualification from next race).

Penalty points are in no way linked to riders' championship points.

Additional punishments available to Race Direction include fines, ride through, grid or time penalties, suspension, disqualification or exclusion...

2015 MotoGP riders with penalty pointsAndrea Iannone: 2 points
1 point - "Irresponsible riding" / 17-05-2014 (Le Mans Q2)
1 point - "Irresponsible riding" / 19-10-2014 (Phillip Island Race)Jack Miller: 2 points
2 points - "Irresponsible riding" / 01-06-2014 (Mugello Moto3 Race)Mike di Meglio: 1 point
1 point - "Riding slowly on racing line" / 02-05-2014 (Jerez FP3) Hiroshi Aoyama*: 1 point
1 point - "Action prejudicial to the interests of the sport" / 11-10-2014 (Motegi FP3)Aleix Espargaro: 1 point
1 point - "Irresponsible riding" / 12-10-2014 (Motegi Race)Bradley Smith: 1 point
1 point - "Passing another rider whilst yellow flags were being displayed" / 19-10-2014 (Phillip Island Race)Stefan Bradl: 1 point
1 point - "Irresponsible riding" / 19-10-2014 (Phillip Island Race)*Aoyama will be a Honda test rider in 2015, but may also participate in some wild-card rides.

The following is a complete list of riders from all three classes that received penalty points last season (no rider received more than 2 points).

2 pointsMotoGP
Andrea IannoneMoto2
Xavier SimeonMoto3
Jack Miller
Andrea Locatelli
Hafiq Azmi
Karel Hanika
Efren Vazquez
John McPhee

1 pointMotoGP
Mike di Meglio
Hiroshi Aoyama
Aleix Espargaro
Bradley Smith
Stefan BradlMoto2
Sandro Cortese
Johann Zarco
Franco Morbidelli
Roman Ramos
Gino ReaMoto3
Romano Fenati
Niklas Ajo
Jules Danilo
Enea Bastianini
Bryan Schouten
Scott Deroue
Matteo Ferrari
Remy Gardner
Isaac Vi?ales
Jorge Navarro
Alessandro Tonucci
Niccolo Antonelli
Jasper Iwema
Gabriel Rodrigo