In a crowded press conference in the media centre of the Laguna Seca circuit on Friday a unique gathering of the seven American men to have won premier class world championships took place in celebration of the 60th season of MotoGP.

Some of the most illustrious names in the history of the sport were presented with replica trophies by Dorna Sports CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta and FIM Road-racing Commission president Claude Danis, marking their respective achievements.

The seven American MotoGP world champions honoured were Eddie Lawson, Wayne Rainey, Kenny Roberts Sr., Kevin Schwantz, Freddie Spencer, Kenny Roberts Jr. and Nicky Hayden - a remarkable group of riders who in total have 15 MotoGP titles to their names.

"I want to thank all of these great riders for being here today," said Ezpeleta. "It is a real pleasure to present them with these trophies on behalf of Dorna and the FIM. We are very proud of the heritage of the world championship and these riders have played a huge role in the history of our sport."