Marcos Ambrose had dominated the preliminary practise and qualifying sessions for the season-opening Clipsal 500, but it was Kmart Racing's Greg Murphy that stole the limelight this afternoon with a stunning lap several tenths ahead of the rest of the field.

A good sign for Ford fans was the presence of six Falcons in the top ten, and Triple Eight Racing/ Team Betta Electrical were ecstatic to be one of two teams with both cars inside the top ten.

Top ten shootout results:

1 Greg Murphy Kmart Racing Team Holden VY 1:22.4672
2 Jason Bright PWR Performance Products Holden VY 1:22.9629
3 Marcos Ambrose Pirtek Racing Ford BA 1:23.0463
4 John Bowe OzeMail Racing Ford BA 1:23.0659
5 Garth Tander Garry Rogers MotorsportHolden VY 1:23.1914
6 Max Wilson Team Betta Electrical Ford BA 1:23.5284
7 Russell Ingall Caltex Havoline racing Ford BA 1:23.6547
8 Steve Ellery Super Cheap Auto Racing Ford BA 1:23.7380
9 Paul Radisich Team Betta Electrical Ford BA 1:24.0422
10 Simon Wills Team Dynamik Holden VY 1:28.3956