2023 Jerez World Superbike - Superpole Results

Results from Superpole for the twelfth and final round of the 2023 World Superbike Championship at Jerez in Spain.
Dominique Aegerter, Alvaro Bautista, Alex Lowes, Spanish WorldSBK, 28 October
Dominique Aegerter, Alvaro Bautista, Alex Lowes, Spanish WorldSBK, 28…


Alvaro Bautista made it mission virtually impossible for Toprak Razagtiloglu with pole posituon as the Turkish rider could only manage seventh.

Alvaro Bautista has one hand on another world Superbike trophy after claiming pole in Jerez - his fourth of the season.

There was virtually no running in FP1 due to the weather so Razgatlioglu had begun the weekend ahead - on top with his FP2 time as Bautista slipped off in the same session.

Come Superpole it was a different story with the Aruba Ducati rider putitng down a statement of intent. Having already topped FP3 earlier on Saturday morning Bautista picked up where he left off, leaping up into the top spot once out on track, avoiding the damp spots on his qualifying tyres for a best of 1m 38.635s.

His tenth WSBK pole is also his fourth of the season, equalling the total of Razgatlioglu.


It was Dominique Aegerter who came closest to besting the Spaniard. His final run for GYTR GRT Yamaha took him to second, 0.210s behind Bautista, with the two riders behind the 2022 Supersport and MotoE champion incredibly close on times.

Alex Lowes popped up into second late on, improving from 14th for Kawasaki, beofre being shuffled back a spot.

Six time champion Jonathan Rea was one of a trio of riders who left for their final flying laps early, to avoid any yellow flag incidents, along with Scott Redding and Tito Rabat.

In good form, Rea gestured to invite Redding to follow. In provisional pole at the time, the Kawasaki rider improved his time to remain on top, taking Redding to third behind, but they perhaps went too soon as a flurry of better laps were incoming.

Rea finished his final qualifying in green in fourth for Kawasaki. It had proviosly been a quiet weekend from him, in 13th on combined times.The #45 will be the best placed BMW on the grid for the Rokit team in eighth.

Ahead of the Brit, Remy Gardner briefly got into second before he took found himself pushed back to fifth for GYTR GYT Yamaha.

Philipp Oettl also improved late on for sixth for Team GoEleven Ducati.

That saw Razgatlioglu left seventh as he pushed to the limit on the Yamaha but unable to find a reply when he needed it most to elongate his title hopes over 0.5s slower at the chequered flag.

Spainsh rounds have been a blot on the #54's strong qualifying form this season - his only lower start this season came at the Catalunya round in eighth on the grid.

After his huge Friday fall Garrett Gerloff reset himself and came back for ninth for Bonovo Action BMW. Andrea Locatelli completed the top ten times for Pata Yamaha.

2023 World Superbike Jerez, Spain - Superpole Results
1Alvaro BautistaSPAAruba.It Racing Ducati1m 38.635s
2Dominique AegerterSWIGYTR GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team+0.210s
3Alex LowesGBRKawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK+0.270s
4Jonathan ReaGBRKawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK+0.272s
5Remy GardnerAUSGYTR GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team+0.326s
6Philipp OettlGERGoEleven Ducati+0.456s
7Toprak RazgatliogluTURPata Yamaha Prometeon WorldSBK+0.516s
8Scott ReddingGBRROKIT BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team+0.529s
9Garrett GerloffUSABonovo Action BMW+0.555s
10Andrea LocatelliITAPata Yamaha Prometeon WorldSBK+0.665s
11Michael Ruben RinaldiITAAruba.It Racing Ducati+0.683s
12Danilo PetrucciITABarni Spark Racing Team+0.750s
13Michael Van Der MarkNEDROKIT BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team+0.844s
14Iker LecuonaSPATeam HRC WorldSBK+1.113s
15Axel BassaniITAMotocorsa Ducati+1.139s
16Xavi ViergeSPATeam HRC WorldSBK+1.157s
17Tito RabatSPAPuccetti Kawasaki+1.592s
18Loris BazFRABonovo Action BMW+1.752s
19Lorenzo BaldassarriITAGMT94 Yamaha+1.783s
20Gabriele RuiuITABmax Racing BWM+2.492s
21Hafizh SyahrinMALPETRONAS MIE Racing HONDA Racing+2.596s
22Leandro MercadoARGPETRONAS MIE Racing HONDA Racing+2.852s
23Florian AltGERTeam HRC+3.045s
24Oliver KonigCZEOrelac Racing Kawasaki+3.379s

Leandro Mercado (22nd) made a surprise late addition, joining the Petronas MIE Racing Honda Team as a late replacement for Eric Granado, who has lack of movement in his wrist after picking up a bone infection after his latest exit.


Jerez World Superbike Records:

Fastest lap: Alvaro Bautista (Ducati, 2019) 1m 39.004s

There was no race at Jerez in 2022

2021 results:

Superpole - Toprak Razgatlioglu

Race 1 - Toprak Razgatlioglu

Superpole Race - Cancelled

Race 2 - Toprak Razgatlioglu

Last Round:

Superpole - Jonathan Rea

Race 1 - Alvaro Bautista

Superpole Race - Alvaro Bautista

Race 2 - Alvaro Bautista


Remaining Schedule (UK Time):


Race 1 - 13.00


Warm-up - 08.00

Superpole Race - 10.00

Race 2 - 13.00

Read More