Alvaro Bautista will have to wait at least one more day before securing the 2022 WorldSBK title after Toprak Razgatlioglu took a dominant Race 1 win in Mandalika. 

Despite an impressive launch, Jonathan Rea headed backwards coming into turn one as Andrea Locatelli and Bautista got through under braking.

As Bautista attempted to make a move on Locatelli for second, the Ducati rider instead lost third to Rea after a mistake at turn ten gave the six-time champion a run on him going into turns 11 and 12, with the latter being the corner where the move was completed.

Continuing to lead after his stunning pole position time, Razgatlioglu was unable to break clear of Rea after the Kawasaki rider made light work of Locatelli. 

Bautista also found his way through on Locatelli at the beginning of lap three as the Yamaha rider slipped back into a comfortable fourth place.

Visibly on the limit trying to remain in contention, Rea’s efforts to challenge Razgatlioglu faded on laps four and five as the Yamaha rider extended his lead to over a second. 

2022 World Superbike Mandalika, Indonesia - Race Results (1)
1Toprak RazgatliogluTURPATA Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK21 Laps
2Alvaro BautistaSPAAruba.It Racing Ducati+4.324s
3Jonathan ReaGBRKawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK+11.855s
4Andrea LocatelliITAPATA Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK+19.954s
5Michael RinaldiITAAruba.It Racing Ducati+23.992s
6Xavi ViergeSPATeam HRC WorldSBK+27.144s
7Garrett GerloffUSAGRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team+27.776s
8Axel BassaniITAMotocorsa Ducati+31.015s
9Alex LowesGBRKawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK+31.363s
10Loris BazFRABonovo Action BMW+39.809s
11Xavi ForesSPABarni Spark Ducati Team+39.895s
12Scott ReddingGBRBMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team+56.317s
13Hafizh SyahrinMALMIE Honda Racing+1'00.618s
14Eugene LavertyIRLBonovo Action BMW+1'04.247s
15Kohta NozaneJPNGRT Yamaha+1'05.242s
16Oliver KonigCZEOrelac Racing Kawasaki+1'06.538s
17Michael Van Der MarkSPABMW Motorrad WorldSBK TeamDNF
18Leandro MercadoARGMIE Honda RacingDNF
19Kyle SmithGBRPedercini KawasakiDNF
20Philipp OettlGERGoEleven DucatiDNF

Rea, who was now the third quickest rider of the three title contenders, lost nearly seven tenths to Bautista on lap eighth. Bautista then took second away from Rea one lap later with a brilliant move at turn 15. 

Phillip Oettl became the first rider to retire from the race after a big highside at turn six. That was quickly followed by Leandro Mercado encountering technical issues that put an end to his race.

With victory looking secure, Razgatlioglu saw his three second lead halved after a mistake at turn eight. 

The fastest rider on track for several laps, Bautista then lost time to Razgatlioglu on lap 14 as the leader increased his pace once again. 

Razgatlioglu then extended his lead close to three seconds once again as he claimed victory #12 on the year. 

Michael Van Der Mark joined Oettl in suffering a crash after attempting to find his way through on Garrett Gerloff.

Mandalika WorldSBK Records:

Fastest Lap - Toprak Razgatlioglu TUR Pata Yamaha 1:31.371s 2022

Race Winners 2021:

Race 1 - Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing Team

Race 2 - Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing Team

Race Winners 2022 

Race 1 - Toprak Razgatlioglu TUR Pata Yamaha

Race 1 took place without Iker Lecuona soon-to-be rookie of the year Iker Lecuona after the Honda rider’s monster highside in FP2.

Lecuona suffered fractures to his vertebrae and the left side of his sacrum. 

Mandalika WorldSBK Schedule (UK time):


Free Practice 1: 02:00-02:55

Free Practice 2: 05:10-05:55


Free Practice 3: 00:30-01:00

Superpole: 02:40-02:55

Race 1: 05:30


Warm-up: 00:30-00:45

Superpole Race: 02:30

Race 2: 05:30