2024 World Superbike Assen - Friday Free Practice Results

Results from Friday Free Practice, round three of the 2024 World Superbike championship at Assen, Netherlands.

Alvaro Bautista, Dutch WorldSBK, 19 April
Alvaro Bautista, Dutch WorldSBK, 19 April

Another slow start to Free Practice 2 resulted in Tito Rabat setting the pace early on before Toprak Razgatlioglu went quickest.

Razgatlioglu continued to set a red hot pace as more riders began filtering out on circuit.

A change at the top then took place when Andrea Locatelli went quickest by just over two tenths.

Michael Ruben Rinaldi was next to go fastest as he bettered Alex Lowes’s time by half a second.

More Ducati rider started to join the party at the front of the field, as Sam Lowes moved into second ahead of series leader Nicolo Bulega.

With 17 minutes to go a red flag was deployed due to ‘safety conditions’ as one of the air fences required repairing. Heavy rain then followed which put pay to any riders wanting to improve.

2024 World Superbike Assen - Free Practice (2) Results
1Alvaro BautistaSPAAruba.It Racing Ducati1:35.473s
2Toprak RazgatliogluTURROKIT BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team+0.277s
3Remy GardnerAUSGYTR GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team+0.354s
4Michael Ruben RinaldiSPAMotocorsa Ducati+0.446s
5Jonathan ReaGBRPata Yamaha Prometeon WorldSBK+0.449s
6Nicolo BulegaITAAruba.It Racing Ducati+0.468s
7Sam LowesGBRMarc VDS Ducati+0.593s
8Michael Van Der MarkNEDROKIT BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team+0.654s
9Dominique AegerterSWIGYTR GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team+0.743s
10Andrea IannoneITAGoEleven Ducati+0.776s
11Philipp OettlGERGMT94 Yamaha+0.928s
12Scott ReddingGBRBonovo Action BMW+1.252s
13Tito RabatSPAPuccetti Kawasaki+1.361s
14Iker LecuonaSPATeam HRC WorldSBK+1.482s
15Garrett GerloffUSABonovo Action BMW+1.624s
16Alex LowesGBRKawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK+1.704s
17Axel BassaniITAKawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK+1.767s
18Andrea LocatelliITAPata Yamaha Prometeon WorldSBK+1.784s
19Xavi ViergeSPATeam HRC WorldSBK+2.483s
20Bradley RayGBRMotoxracing Yamaha WorldSBK Team+2.878s
21Tarran MackenzieGBRPetronas Mie Honda+3.460s
22Nicholas SpinelliITABarni Spark Racing Team+4.641s
23Adam NorrodinMALPetronas Mie Honda+6.548s

Toprak Razgatlioglu leads the way in FP1

With very cold and damp conditions, many riders elected to stay in pit lane for the start of Free Practice 1.

One rider who did not was Alex Lowes, who went on to set the first flying lap of the session. But when Lowes swiftly returned to pit lane, a brief lull in the action followed before Philipp Oettl took his Yamaha R1 to the track.

Two-time race winner at Catalunya, Toprak Razgatlioglu was next to venture out as he chose to set a flying lap.

Sam Lowes elected to do the same aboard his Panigale V4 R as the track action began ramping up.

Razgatlioglu wasted no time in going quickest as the 2021 world champion went top just two laps into his stint.

The BMW rider continued his impressive turn of pace as he set a time of 1:37.665s despite conditions still being damp.

With a track full of riders heading into the final third of FP1, changes to the order behind Razgatlioglu were fluid as Jonathan Rea moved up to second, while Alvaro Bautista climbed up to fifth.

Michael Van Der Mark then made it a BMW 1-2 as he slotted into second behind Razgatlioglu.

Moments after going fourth quickest, Nicolo Bulega ran into problems at turn one as he went off into the gravel before getting stuck.

The session ended with Razgatlioglu getting back top spot from Alex Lowes. 

2024 World Superbike Assen - Free Practice (1) Results
1Toprak RazgatliogluTURROKIT BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team1:35.684s
2Alex LowesGBRKawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK+0.290s
3Alvaro BautistaSPAAruba.It Racing Ducati+0.587s
4Remy GardnerAUSGYTR GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team+0.598s
5Jonathan ReaGBRPata Yamaha Prometeon WorldSBK+0.604s
6Garrett GerloffUSABonovo Action BMW+0.702s
7Michael Van Der MarkNEDROKIT BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team+0.721s
8Sam LowesGBRMarc VDS Ducati+0.848s
9Andrea IannoneITAGoEleven Ducati+0.851s
10Nicolo BulegaITAAruba.It Racing Ducati+0.874s
11Dominique AegerterSWIGYTR GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team+0.918s
12Xavi ViergeSPATeam HRC WorldSBK+1.213s
13Michael Ruben RinaldiSPAMotocorsa Ducati+1.255s
14Philipp OettlGERGMT94 Yamaha+1.330s
15Iker LecuonaSPATeam HRC WorldSBK+1.426s
16Tito RabatSPAPuccetti Kawasaki+1.530s
17Andrea LocatelliITAPata Yamaha Prometeon WorldSBK+1.543s
18Scott ReddingGBRBonovo Action BMW+1.623s
19Axel BassaniITAKawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK+1.870s
20Bradley RayGBRMotoxracing Yamaha WorldSBK Team+2.142s
21Nicholas SpinelliITABarni Spark Racing Team+2.393s
22Tarran MackenzieGBRPetronas Mie Honda+2.405s
23Adam NorrodinMALPetronas Mie Honda+4.466s

Read More