Jim Moodie comfortably took the victory in the 600cc Junior event to extend to eight his winning pedigree in the annual Isle of Man TT racing festival but there was bitter disappointment in the early stages of the four lap race for two of the favourites.

Yorkshireman Dave Jefferies, bidding for a third winning triple in as many years on the Island, was forced out at Sulby on the opening lap as his Suzuki ground to halt with mechanical problems, and then on the second lap, John McGuinness also had machine problems, having to retire his Honda CBR600.

Moodie, the winner of the corresponding race in 1999, was in dominant form. He had overtaken Jefferies over the first nine miles, and was maintaining that pace as McGuinness tried to challenge, but the Lancastrian was nine seconds down at the end of the opening lap of the 37.73 mile Mountain Course.

As McGuinness stopped, Ian Lougher, the winner of Monday's 125cc Ultra-lightweight race, moved second but the Welshman was never in a position to challenge for the lead as Moodie, riding smoothly maintained the pace aboard his V&M Yamaha, to be 26 seconds clear at the half-distance pit stop for fuel.

Moodie was in no mood to let this one slip, riding smoothly, to maintain his lead on the third lap, and then extend it to a winning margin of 33 seconds with a final fast lap at an average speed of 120.20 mph: "Absolutely brilliant, tremendous." Said Scotsman Moodie.

"The clutch was slipping and wearing, so I had to stop using the quick-shift, so it was a case of keeping it going, and maintaining my concentration all of the way through to the end. It was not easy out there, because of a number of damp patches. It was a case of riding as hard as possible on the dry, but going a bit steadier in the damp." Concluded Moodie.

Lougher was well pleased with his second place: "Brilliant - I took a while to get my head down on the first lap. There were no problems, the bike was so easy to ride." Said Lougher.

Jason Griffiths (Yamaha) took third place, ahead of Ryan Farquhar (Kawasaki) and Richard Quayle riding the Campbell Honda. Adrian Archibald's disappointing week continued as the Ulsterman brought his Red Bull Honda CBR600 into seventh place.

Kiwi Bruce Anstey romped to maiden TT glory as he won the 250cc race by a little over three minutes. The Yamaha rider was always running clear out front, even able to enjoy the luxury of a leisurely pit-stop, with second placed Simon Smith, a journalist riding the Manton Honda as a replacement rider for Shaun Brown, unable to make any impact.

Anstey said of his ride. "The bike was flying, going really well - I had no signals around the course so I was doing my own thing and enjoying the ride. I always knew that I could go well. It was just a case of keeping it nice and smooth."

Smith said. "I've hardly ridden two-stroke 250s so it was a gamble but after my first lap on the machine in practice I was more than happy to race it."

He added: "I'm really happy with second place. I had a problem-free race and I?m pleased for the team after the late changes and Shaun?s injury."

Honda riders Roy Richardson, Richard Coates, Keith Shannon and Henrik Voit completed the top six, but with only 12 classified finishers, Anstey could find a place in the record books as the winner of the final 250cc TT race to be held.

Third-placed Roy Richardson said: "I had a good run but the high wind caught us out and the machine wouldn't pull top gear. I had a problem with the wind getting into my helmet and making my eyes water."

Rob Fisher is already assured of a place in the records as he took an unparalleled tenth victory in the three lap Sidecar race, in the process completing a third winning double, and just as in Saturday's race, he and passenger Rick Long led throughout.

Behind them, the Manx crew of Dave Molyneux and Colin Hardman pressed hard, but the Bullock DMR Honda CBR600 crew had to be content with second best as they finished 14 seconds down, with Molyneux conceding: "Rob rode the wheels off his bike, I rode as hard as I could and enjoyed it."

Fisher's record victory came at an average speed of 110.75mph, and for Long there was also a milestone as he became the first passenger to win five consecutive races.

Ian Bell/Neil Carpenter (Yamaha) and Roy Hanks/Dave Wells (Yamaha) took third and fourth placings, with the Shelbourne Honda CBR600 of Gary Horspole/Kevin Leigh fifth.

Junior TT result (four laps 150.92 miles):

1 Jim Moodie, GB (Yamaha) 1hr 15m 56.9s 119.22mph,
2 Ian Lougher, GB (Suzuki) 1hr 16m 30.3s 118.36mph,
3 Jason Griffiths, GB (Yamaha) 1hr 17m 08.2s 117.39mph,
4 Richard Britton, GB (Suzuki) 1hr 17m 22.4s 117.03mph,
5 Ryan Farquhar, GB (Kawasaki) 1hr 17m 24.7s 116.97mph,
6 Richard Quayle, GB (Honda) 1hr 17m 30.6s 116.82mph,
7 Adrian Archibald, GB (Honda) 1hr 17m 30.8s 116.82mph,
8 Shaun Harris, New Zealand (Suzuki) 1hr 17m 44.8s 116.47mph,
9 Brian Gardiner, GB (Honda) 1hr 17m 51.8s 116.29mph,
10 Iain Duffus, GB (Yamaha) 1hr 17m 55.5s 116.20mph.

250cc TT result (four laps 150.92 miles):

1 Bruce Anstey, New Zealand, (Yamaha) 1hr 18m 31.1s 115.32mph,
2 Simon Smith, GB (Honda) 1hr 21m 34.7s 111.00mph,
3 Roy Richardson, GB (Honda) 1hr 22m 18.5s 110.01mph
4 Richard Coates, GB (Honda) 1hr 23m 11.6s 108.84mph,
5 Keith Shannon, GB (Honda) 1hr 24m 57.3s 106.58mph,
6 Henrik Voit, Germany (Honda) 1hr 25m 13.1s 106.25mph,
7 Paul Owen, GB (Honda) 1hr 25m 23.7s 106.03mph,
8 Trevor Keys, GB (Honda) 1hr 27m 28.7s 103.51mph,
9 Decca Kelly, GB (Yamaha) 1hr 28m 48.7s 101.95mph. Only nine finished.

Sidecar 'B' race result (three laps 113.19 miles):

1 Rob Fisher / Rick Long, GB (Yamaha) 1hr 01m 19.0s 110.75mph,
2 Dave Molyneux / Colin Hardman, GB (Honda) 1hr 01m 33.2s 110.33mph,
3 Ian Bell / Neil Carpenter, GB (Yamaha) 1hr 01m 49.7s 109.84mph,
4 Roy Hanks / Dave Wells, GB (Yamaha) 1hr 02m 37.3s 108.45mph,
5 Gary Horspole / Kevin Leigh, GB (Honda) 1hr 02m 45.5s 108.21mph,
6 Philip Dongworth / Stuart Castles, GB (Kawasaki) 1hr 03m 20.4s 107.22mph,
7 Kenny Howles / Doug Jewell, GB (Yamaha) 1hr 04m 11.2s 105.80mph,
8 Tony Baker / Scott Parnell, GB (Yamaha) 1hr 04m 13.9s 105.73mph,
9 Ben Dixon / Mark Lambert, GB (Honda) 1hr 04m 45.0s 104.88mph,
10 Andrew Laidlow / Darren Dodgson, GB (Yamaha) 1hr 04m 49.9s 104.75mph.



Loading Comments...