Formula E has refined its qualifying format ahead of the start of its second season which begins in Beijing on the 24-25 October.

The new format introduces a 'Super Pole' shootout which sees a five-car, 15-minute session added to the existing four group qualifying sessions used in the inaugural Formula E championship.

As was the case in the first season, drivers will be allocated into four groups of five by a lottery but each session has been shortened to six minutes to give the drivers the opportunity of one flying lap at 200kW.

From those times the overall five fastest drivers from the four sessions combined will advance into the pole position shootout.

Each driver will go out one-by-one in the order of the fifth to first fastest times from the first stage of qualifying. In a format similar to what is used in the FIA World Touring Car Championship, when the first driver crosses the line to start their flying lap the pitlane goes green for the second driver to head out on track and so on.

Like in the 2014-15 season the pole position winner will receive three bonus points. The qualifying order of the 'Super Pole' will determine the front five places on the grid, with spots 6-20 ranked by the fastest times set during the qualifying groups.

Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag hopes the new format will increase the spectacle of qualifying which had been criticised in the inaugural season.

"Pushing the car to the limit and brushing against the walls around a street circuit in qualifying is a real spectacle and one of the highlights of a Formula E event," Agag said. "With this new qualifying format it will ensure the battle for pole position will go down to the wire - as the name suggests it's super!"

The 'Super Pole' concept is currently subject to ratification by the FIA World Motor Sport Council.