Rockstar replace Red Bull as Husky MXGP sponsor

Surprise global deal sees Husqvarna go with energy drink rival in global deal

By Adam Duckworth

Red Bull will no longer be the backer of the official Husqvarna GP teams, replaced by rivals Rockstar Energy in a global deal that sees them also partner with Husky's official factory race teams in motocross, supercross, enduro, US Off-Road racing and Rally.

So in GPs, the team will field Max Nagl, Christophe Charlier, Max Anstie and Thomas Covington while Christophe Pourcel, Jason Anderson and Martin Davalos, Zach Osborne form the American Supercross and motocross squads.

Mathias Bellino, Danny McCanney, Pascal Rauchenecker, Josep Garcia, Graham Jarvis, Mario Roman are the official world enduro team while Jacob Argubright, Andrew Delong, Josh Strang, Mike Brown and Colton Haaker race US off-road and Ruben Faria, Pablo Quintanilla, Pierre-Alexandre Renet do Dakar and long-distance rallies.

Husky boss Robert Jonas said: "Aligning all of Husqvarna Motorcycles' worldwide factory racing activities with Rockstar Energy Drink ensures a globally cohesive approach to all of our racing activities. Everyone within Husqvarna Motorsports has worked extremely hard to re-establish Husqvarna as a winning brand, and within all of our teams we have riders at the very top of their disciplines, all looking for success in 2016 and beyond. We're looking forward to a strong, enjoyable and positive relationship with Rockstar Energy Drink."

Read More