Reigning THQ World Supercross GP champion Chad Reed heads the definitive entry list for the opening event of the season, which takes place this coming Saturday [6 December] at Seville's Estadio Ol?mpico.

Reed will begin the defence of his title in the face of strong opposition, with Mike Brown, Grant Langston, Damon Huffman, Ernesto Fonseca and Heath Voss just a few of his main challengers on the first European leg of the 17-round series.

The biggest absentee, not only on the night of the Seville event, but also in the season as a whole, is US rider Ricky Carmichael, who seriously injured himself whilst practicing in California. After tests, it was revealed that Carmichael has suffered a torn ACL knee ligament and would need to undergo surgery, leaving him unable to either defend his AMA Supercross title or challenge Chad Reed for the THQ World Supercross GP title as had been expected.

Despite the absence of the American star, however, the talented rider line-up for the Seville Supercross is sure to kick off the season in perfect fashion. There will be five Spanish riders pitting their talents against the world's best, including Javier Remacho, the Spanish Supercross champion for the past three seasons.

The track upon which the 36 listed riders will compete in this first round of the World Championship will begin to be constructed this Monday, and will be finished just in time for the first practice sessions on Friday.

Provisional entry list:

3. Mike Brown Yamaha YZ 250 Boost Mobile Yamaha
8. Grant Langston KTM SX 250 Factory KTM
20. Damon Huffman Honda CR 450 Moto XXX
22. Chad Reed Yamaha YZ 250 Factory Yamaha
24. Ernesto Fonseca Honda CR 250 Factory Honda
28. Heath Voss Yamaha YZ 250 Mach 1 Yamaha
30. Craig Anderson Honda CR 250 Motorsports Outlet
31. Keith Johnson Yamaha YZ 250 Star Racing
32. Andrew Short Suzuki RM 250 Motoworld Suzuki
33. Kelly Smith Yamaha YZ 450 Boost Mobile Yamaha
34. Clark Stiles Honda CR 450 Subway MX
38. Jason Thomas Honda CR 450 Subway MX
42. Steve Boniface Suzuki RM 250 Motoworld Suzuki
43. Ryan Clark Yamaha YZ 250 Team Solitaire
46. Daryl Hurley Suzuki RM 250 Motoworld Suzuki
52. Greg Schnell Yamaha YZ 250
57. Joe Oehlhof Honda CR 450 Subway MX
58. Brian Mason Honda CR 450
59. Tyler Evans Suzuki RM 250 Team ECC
60. Pierre Senac Yamaha YZ 250
61. William Poll Suzuki RM 250
62. Ken de Dijcker KTM SX 450 MTM-SPO 989
63. Javier Remacho Yamaha
64. Adrian Garrido Honda CR 250
65. James Povolvy Jr Honda CR 250
66. Alvaro Lozano KTM SX 250
67. Xavier Hernandez Yamaha YZ 250
68. Jean Sebastian Roy Honda CR 450 Motorsports Outlet
70. Manuel Rivas Honda CR 250
71. Boyd Cheyne KTM SX 250
74. Erick Vallejo Yamaha YZ 250 Star Racing
77. Ted Campbell Honda CR 450
85. Jerem?as Israel Honda CR 250
87. Jeff Gibson Yamaha YZ 250 Star Racing
198. Isaiah Johnson Yamaha YZ 250
221. Tiger Lacey Honda CR 450 Motorsports Outlet