Following Sunday's season-ending Valencia MotoGP race, riders and teams returned to the circuit to start their 2020 preparations in earnest during a two-day official test.

Moto2 champion Alex Marquez - who will join brother Marc at Repsol Honda next season - has been placed at the LCR team for this test and is on track alongside fellow class rookies Brad Binder and Iker Lecuona. 

Alex fell after just eight laps, fortunately without harm, but causing significant damage to his 2019-spec RCV.

All factories with the exception of Aprilia have brought significant updates to try for 2020. Aprilia's new bike will not be seen until Sepang in February.

Miguel Oliveira and Takaaki Nakagami are not present, as they continue to recover from shoulder surgery, but Dani Pedrosa will be back in action as part of his KTM test riding duties.

Testing takes place from 10am to 5pm, but chilly conditions meant a quiet opening hour.

CLICK HERE for live updates…

Valencia MotoGP test times - Tuesday (12pm)
1 Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)1m 30.792s
2Maverick VinalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.002s
3 Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.357s
4 Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.393s
5 Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.422s
6 Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (Desmosedici)+0.571s
7 Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+0.655s
8 Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.716s
9 Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)+0.812s
10 Valentino RossiITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.860s
11Iker LecuonaSPARed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)*+1.380s
12Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (Desmosedici)+1.399s
13 Aleix EspargaroSPAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+1.519s
14 Andrea IannoneITAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+1.591s
15 Stefan BradlGERHonda Test Rider (RC213V)+2.375s
16 Bradley SmithGBRAprilia Test Rider (RS-GP)+2.459s
17 Tito RabatSPAReale Avintia (Desmosedici)+2.617s
18 Karel AbrahamCZEReale Avintia (Desmosedici)+2.793s
19Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)*+3.653s
20Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)*+4.630s


Official Valencia MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 29.401s (2016)
Fastest race lap:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 31.116s (2019)

By Peter McLaren