It was all change over the line with a time penalty added for passing the safety car as it entered the pits, but Bradley Ray had a big enough advantage to keep his win and pull off a treble at Snetterton.

Following on from a dominant race one and tactical win over Tarran Mackenzie in race two, the third race looking to be going the same way, with the Yamahas having broken up ahead, Glenn Irwin was giving chase.

The safety car was deployed to remove Storm Stacey’s smoking bike, which bunched the field back up.

British Superbike Snetterton - Race results (2)
1Bradley RayGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing Yamaha29m 40.682s
2Peter HickmanGBRFHO Racing BMW+0.739s
3Tarran MackenzieGBRMcAMS Yamaha+1.548s
4Glenn IrwinGBRHonda Racing UK+1.945s
5Jason O'HalloranAUSMcAMS Yamaha+2.422s
6Leon HaslamGBRVisiontrack Kawasaki+4.063s
7Tommy BridewellGBROxford Products Racing Ducati+4.189s
8Kyle RydeGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing Yamaha+5.379s
9Andrew IrwinGBRSYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+6.59s
10Lee JacksonGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki+6.656s
11Josh BrookesAUSMCE Ducati+8.568s
12Danny KentGBRBuildbase Suzuki=10.375s
13Tom NeaveGBRHonda Racing UK+10.402s
14Ryo MizunoJAPHonda Racing UK+12.252s
15Dean HarrisonGBRDAO Racing Kawasaki+14.322s
16Leon JeacockGBRSpecsavers Suzuki+17.252s
17Takumi TakahashiJAPHonda Racing UK+25.427s
18Storm StaceyGBRTeam LKQ Euro Parts Kawasaki8 laps
19Josh OwensGBRRapid CDH Racing Kawasaki8 laps
20Liam DelvesGBRRapid CDH Racing Kawasaki10 laps
21Danny BuchanGBRSYNETIQ BMW Motorrad12 laps
22Chrissy RouseGBRCrowe Performance BMW12 laps
23Tom SykesGBRMCE Ducati14 laps
24Christian IddonGBRBuildbase Suzuki0 laps
25Rory SkinnerGBRFS-3 Racing KawasakiDNS



Launching from pole after setting a new lap record in the second race, Tarran Mackenzie, launched again as the safety car pulled in from the lead, with the two riders behind following and also being deemed to have passed the car too soon.

That caused the final standings to jump all over the place.

Ray, who had been able to use the safety car to his advantage had pulled away from Mackenzie and Irwin who fought each other for the final podium places. That gap was enough to keep his win after the two second penalty was applied to the first three riders over the line - Ray, Mackenzie and Irwin.

It is the #28’s first ever triple win at a BSB meeting and his dominant weekend also saw him pick up Snetterton’s Race Of Aces trophy.

McAMS Yamaha rider Tarran Mackenzie was given third, which caused him to apologise to the riders who followed, especially Glenn Irwin.

That was because although he drove his bike down to parc ferme thinking he had bagged a podium in second, he rode past the track staff trying to wave him back to the pits as he additional time meant he was dropped to fourth, which the team disputed with race direction after the race as Irwin felt holding back was more dangerous as he could be hit from behind.

The other podium position was instead awarded to FHO Racing BMW rider Peter Hickman - his first rostrum finish of the season.


Jason O’Halloran worked his way up to fifth, the best finish of the weekend for the McAMS rider.

The Australian was clear of Leon Haslam, who again made gains in the race, climbing from thirteenth on the grid to sixth for the with the VisionTrack Kawasaki team.


Tommy Bridewell got a front row start and got away well, but eventually faded back to seventh on the Oxford Products Ducati, just behind Haslam.

They gapped Kyle Ryde on the second Rich Energy OMG bike who crossed the line eighth, in turn clear of Andrew Irwin (Synetiq BMW Motorrad), another rider who got off to a strong start, initially up to third and racing his brother before he slipped back to ninth.


He found himself racing Lee Jackson for positon after the safety car and kept ahead, meaning the Cheshire Mouldings FS-3 Kawasaki rider had to settle for tenth.

Josh Brookes was two seconds further back down the road for MCE Ducati in eleventh.


The battle for twelfth was next to hit the finish line, with Danny Kent (Buildbase Suzuki)working his way up from 19th on the grid after crashing out of the previous race, to finish just ahead of Tom Neave (FHO Racing BMW with Attis Sports).


The remaining points on offer went to Honda’s Ryo Mizuno in 14th and his team-mate Dean Harrison in 15th

Again there were very few riders finishing with 16th placed Leon Jeacock (Rapid CDG Ducati) and Takumi Takahashi (Honda Racing) the only other riders to meet the chequered flag.


Absentees and DNFs


There were several riders not starting with Ryan Vickers still out with concussion and Rory Skinner withdrawn again to continue his recovery after his qualifying crash.

There was an early off for Christian Iddon. Tom Sykes followed a few laps later, helped off after contact with Danny Buchan, who later retired himself.

Josh Owens, Liam Delves and chrissy Rose also failed to finish.


Snetterton Statistics



1:Christian Iddon (1m 54.591s)

2:Kyle Ryde

3:Tommy Bridewell


BSB Snetterton Lap Record - 2017 Shane Byrne (Ducati) 1m 47.143s


New Lap Racord (Race 2) - Tarran Mackenzie (Yamaha) 1m 47.079s


Race One (Sprint):

1: Bradley Ray

2:Tarran Mackenzie

3:Kyle Ryde


2021 at Snetterton



1: Glenn Irwin

2: Jason O’Halloran

3: Tarran Mackenzie


Race One (sprint): Tarran Mackenzie

Race Two: Jason O’Halloran

Race Three: Tarran Mackenzie


Round Six Results (Thruxton)


Qualifying (superpole format):

1: Bradley Ray

2: Rory Skinner

3: Lee Jackson


Race One (sprint): Bradley Ray

Race Two: Danny Buchan

Race Three: Danny Buchan


Where does that leave the championship standings?


Bradley Ray’s momentum and form continued to increase his lead in both the overall standings before the showdown and the podium points.


The #28 has an overall total of 447, 61 more than nearest rival Jason O’Halloran. Ray’s podium points haul now stands at an impressive 61.


The Australian’s Snetterton blip sees him remain on 48 podium points, while Mackenzie’s podium finishes see him having collected 31 despite missing the beginning of the season.