Lewis Hamilton was awarded the British Racing Drivers' Club's premier annual award, the BRDC Gold Star, on Monday.

The Mercedes driver exceeded all expectations in his first year with the Brackley-based team, having switched from McLaren at the end of 2012 and in addition to winning the Hungarian Grand Prix, he secured four podium finishes, ending the year fourth overall in the F1 2013 Drivers' Championship. It is the fourth time he has taken the BRDC Gold Star.

The prestigious event, hosted by former BBC F1 presenter Jake Humphrey at The Grand Connaught Rooms in Central London, was attended by the great and good of British motor racing, including Sir Stirling Moss OBE, John Surtees OBE, Christian Horner OBE and Ross Brawn OBE.

Other notable winners included Red Bull designer Adrian Newey, who took a BRDC Gold Medal for his exceptional contribution to British motor racing.

Newey has been instrumental to Red Bull Racing's four consecutive Constructors' World Championships, not to mention previous title successes with McLaren and Williams and the BRDC wished to recognise this 'unprecedented world class success' achieved with three British teams.

One of Red Bull Racing's drivers, Mark Webber, was also honoured by the BRDC, receiving The Johnny Wakefield Trophy for setting the fastest lap of the season around the Silverstone Grand Prix Circuit, while fellow Aussie, Daniel Ricciardo, who will step into Webber's seat at Red Bull Racing in 2014, took the Bruce McLaren Trophy, awarded to the Commonwealth driver who has established the most meritorious performances in international motor racing.

However, the awards are not all about F1, and the extreme highs and devastating lows of motor sport were epitomised by the most poignant award of the afternoon. The Fairfield Trophy is annually awarded for an outstanding performance by a BRDC Member. In 2013, this was posthumously awarded to Sean Edwards who, having won both the Dubai 24 Hours and Nurburgring 24 Hours earlier this year, was tragically killed as the passenger in a crash during a private test at the Queensland Raceway, Australia, in October. Edwards was leading the Porsche Supercup Championship at the time of his passing. Following an emotional tribute, BRDC president Derek Warwick presented the Trophy to Sean's mother, Daphne McKinley.

A full list of winners from the awards can be found by clicking HERE.