The FIA - the governing body for the Formula One World Championship, has today released a complete schedule for 2004 and following a fax vote by the World Motor Sport Council, it has been confirmed that 17 events will take place next year.

As in 2003, the championship will again commence in March in Australia, with Bahrain gaining a slot in April following the Malaysian GP, and China hosting its first event in September - both though are subject to circuit approval.

The British GP will again take place in July, although at the start of the month rather than in the middle, while France will take place one week later, subject to a new contract.

Belgium returns as revealed in August, although still reliant on favourable tobacco laws, while the season will now conclude in Brazil - as opposed to Japan this year - on October 24.

The full 2004 schedule is below...

2004 FIA Formula One World Championship calendar:

March 7 Grand Prix of Australia (Melbourne)March 21 Grand Prix of Malaysia (Kuala Lumpur)April 4 Grand Prix of Bahrain (Bahrain)***April 25 Grand Prix of Europe (N?rburbring)May 9 Grand Prix of Spain (Barcelona)May 23 Grand Prix of Monaco (Monaco)June 6 Grand Prix of San Marino (Imola)June 20 Grand Prix of USA (Indianapolis)July 4 Grand Prix of Great Britain (Silverstone)July 11 Grand Prix of France (Magny-Cours)*July 25 Grand Prix of Germany (Hockenheim)August 15 Grand Prix of Hungary (Budapest)August 29 Grand Prix of Belgium (Spa-Francorchamps)**September 12 Grand Prix of Italy (Monza)September 26 Grand Prix of China (Shanghai)***October 10 Grand Prix of Japan (Suzuka)October 24 Grand Prix of Brazil (Sao Paulo)

* Provisional - subject to contract.
** Provisional - subject to tobacco law.
*** Subject to circuit approval.