At least six drivers will take a grid penalty at this weekend's Belgian Grand Prix after a raft of power unit element changes ahead of opening practice at Spa on Friday.

With Honda, Mercedes and Renault all introducing updated-spec engines for the start of the second half of the season, various drivers will be required to take a grid penalty for exceeding the season limit on each element usage.

Alexander Albon, Daniel Ricciardo, Nico Hulkenberg, Carlos Sainz, Lance Stroll and Daniil Kvyat have taken a new engine for this weekend's race, and will all fall back from their qualifying position.

Albon, Stroll, and Kvyat have also taken a new turbocharger and MGU-H, with Albon and Kvyat also taking a new MGU-K. Albon completes his raft of new components with a new control electronics and energy store, having taken on Pierre Gasly's power unit allocation following their seat swap for Spa.

With their grid penalty totals adding up to more than 15, Albon, Stroll and Kvyat will all start from the rear of the grid on Sunday, while Ricciardo, Hulkenberg and Sainz will all drop five places.

Lewis Hamilton, Valtteri Bottas, Romain Grosjean, Kevin Magnussen, Sergio Perez, Antonio Giovinazzi, George Russell and Robert Kubica have also taken new power unit elements for the Spa weekend, but receive no penalty as they are still within the season limit for these parts.