2022 F1 Australian Grand Prix - FREE PRACTICE RESULTS (2)
1Charles LeclercMONScuderia Ferrari1m18.978s
2Max VerstappenNEDOracle Red Bull Racing1m19.223s
3Carlos SainzESPScuderia Ferrari1m19.376s
4Fernando AlonsoESPBWT Alpine F1 Team1m19.537s
5Sergio PerezMEXOracle Bull Racing1m19.658s
6Esteban OconFRABWT Alpine F1 Team1m19.842s
7Valtteri BottasFINAlfa Romeo F1 Team Orlen1m20.055s
8Lando NorrisGBRMcLaren F1 Team1m20.0100s
9Pierre GaslyFRAScuderia AlphaTauri1m20.142s
10Daniel RicciardoAUSMcLaren F1 Team1m20.203s
11George RussellGBRMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team1m20.212s
12Yuki TsunodaJPNScuderia AlphaTauri1m20.424s
13Lewis HamiltonGBRMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team1m20.521s
14Lance StrollCANAston Martin Aramco Cognizant Formula One Team1m20.611s
15Guanyu ZhouCHNAlfa Romeo F1 Team Orlen1m21.063s
16Kevin MagnussenDENHaas F1 Team1m21.191s
17Alexander AlbonTHAWilliams Racing1m21.912s
18Mick SchumacherGERHaas F1 Team1m21.974s
19Nicholas LatifiCANWilliams Racing1m22.307s
20Sebastian VettelGERAston Martin Aramco Cognizant Formula One TeamNo Time Set

Formula 1 will race in Melbourne for the first time since 2019 for this weekend's Australian Grand Prix.

F1's last visit in 2020 was cut short amid the coronavirus pandemic but we're back at one of the drivers' favourite venues. 

While it has often been the season-opener, Albert Park hosts round three of this season's F1 world championship after back-to-back grands prix in the Middle East.

Bahrain kick-started the season with Charles Leclerc coming out on top ahead of Ferrari teammate Carlos Sainz to take Ferrari's first 1-2 finish since the 2019 Singapore Grand Prix.

A week later in Saudi Arabia, F1 champion Max Verstappen took to the top after an intense duel with Leclerc at the front.

Heading into this weekend's race, F1 races at a heavily-revised Albert Park circuit with an unprecedented four DRS zones.

The track has been modified significantly with a number of corners widened and altered to improve wheel-to-wheel racing at the front of the field.

Lap times are expected to be at least nine to 10 seconds quicker but the barriers remain close to the track, offering drivers are difficult challenge this weekend.

In terms of who will come out on top at the front, Ferrari and Red Bull will no doubt remain the teams to beat, while Mercedes - who was expected to introduce a number of upgrades for this weekend - hasn't.

The midfield battle looks tighter than ever but Alpine will be hoping its new floor will tip the edge in its favour as it looks to move clear of Haas and Alfa Romeo.

Haas has no spare chassis so Mick Schumacher and Kevin Magnussen will need to be on their best behaviour.

Aston Martin welcomes back Sebastian Vettel after he missed the opening two races of the year. 

Vettel was ruled out of the Bahrain and Saudi Arabia rounds through covid but is back for this weekend having won in Australia on three previous occasions.

Finally, home hero Daniel Ricciardo will be hoping to get his season off the mark after failing to score so far in 2022.

Previous F1 Australian Grand Prix winners: 

2020-2021: Not held 

2019: Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes) 

2018: Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari) 

2017: Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)

2016: Nico Rosberg (Mercedes) 

2015: Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) 

2014: Nico Rosberg (Mercedes) 

2013: Kimi Raikkonen (Lotus) 

2012: Jenson Button (McLaren) 

2011: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull) 

2010: Jenson Button (McLaren) 

Most F1 Australian Grand Prix wins 

Michael Schumacher: 4 wins (2000, 2001, 2002, 2004) 

Sebastian Vettel: 3 wins (2011, 2017, 2018) 

Jenson Button: 3 wins (2009, 2010, 2012) 

Follow Crash.net for all your motorsport live coverage, breaking news and expert analysis. We are your No 1 source for the big races in Formula 1, MotoGP, World Super Bikes, British Super Bikes, Indy Car, NASCAR, World Rally and every other major motorsport championship.

Crash.net will bring you lap-by-lap updates from the best races every weekend across two wheels and four wheels - we are your ultimate home of motorsport.

Full 2022 F1 calendar

March 18-20 - Round 1

Bahrain Grand Prix

March 25-27 - Round 2

Saudi Arabian Grand Prix

April 8-10 - Round 3

Australian Grand Prix

April 22-24 - Round 4

Emilia-Romagna Grand Prix

May 6-8 - Round 5

Miami Grand Prix

May 20-22 - Round 6

Spanish Grand Prix

May 27-29 - Round 7

Monaco Grand Prix

June 10-12 - Round 8

Azerbaijan Grand Prix

June 17-19 - Round 9

Canadian Grand Prix

July 1-3 - Round 10

British Grand Prix

July 8-10 - Round 11

Austrian Grand Prix

July 22-24 - Round 12

French Grand Prix

July 27-29 - Round 13

Hungarian Grand Prix

August 26-28 - Round 14

Belgian Grand Prix

September 2-4 - Round 15

Dutch Grand Prix

September 9-11 - Round 16

Italian Grand Prix

September 30-October 2 - Round 17

Singapore Grand Prix

October 7-9 - Round 18

Japanese Grand Prix

October 21-23 - Round 19

United States Grand Prix

October 28-30 - Round 20 

Mexican Grand Prix

November 11-13 - Round 21 

Brazilian Grand Prix

November 18-20 - Round 22

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix