2022 F1 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix - QUALIFYING RESULTS
1Max VerstappenNEDOracle Red Bull Racing1m19.295s1m18.793s1m27.999s
2Charles LeclercMONScuderia Ferrari1m18.796s1m19.584s1m28.778s
3Lando NorrisGBRMcLaren F1 Team1m20.168s1m19.294s1m29.131s
4Kevin MagnussenDENHaas F1 Team1m20.147s1m19.902s1m29.164s
5Fernando AlonsoESPBWT Alpine F1 Team1m20.198s1m19.595s1m29.202s
6Daniel RicciardoAUSMcLaren F1 Team1m19.980s1m20.031s1m29.742s
7Sergio PerezMEXOracle Bull Racing1m19.773s1m19.296s1m29.808s
8Valtteri BottasFINAlfa Romeo F1 Team Orlen1m20.419s1m20.192s1m30.439s
9Sebastian VettelGERAston Martin Aramco Cognizant Formula One Team1m20.364s1m19.957s1m31.062s
10Carlos SainzESPScuderia Ferrari1m19.305s1m18.990sNo Time Set
11George RussellGBRMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team1m20.383s1m20.757s 
12Mick SchumacherGERHaas F1 Team1m20.422s1m20.916s 
13Lewis HamiltonGBRMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team1m20.470s1m21.138s 
14Guanyu ZhouCHNAlfa Romeo F1 Team Orlen1m19.730s1m21.434s 
15Lance StrollCANAston Martin Aramco Cognizant Formula One Team1m20.342s1m28.119s 
16Yuki TsunodaJPNScuderia AlphaTauri1m20.474s  
17Pierre GaslyFRAScuderia AlphaTauri1m20.732s  
18Nicholas LatifiCANWilliams Racing1m21.971s  
19Esteban OconFRABWT Alpine F1 Team1m22.338s  
20Alexander AlbonTHAWilliams RacingNo Time Set  
F1 will race at Imola for a third consecutive year having not featured on the calendar since 2006 before that.

The iconic Italian venue threw up a fantastic event in 2021 which saw Max Verstappen win the race in tricky conditions, while Lewis Hamilton recovered from an off-track excursion to finish second.

Ferrari heads into this weekend’s Emila Romagna Grand Prix as the team to beat with Charles Leclerc 34 points clear of Mercedes’ George Russell in the drivers’ championship.

Hamilton and Verstappen have endured tricky starts to the year, with the latter retiring from two of the opening three grands prix.

In terms of the midfield, Alpine appears to have stolen a march with Haas, Alfa Romeo, AlphaTauri and McLaren just behind.

Williams scored its first point of the season last time out in Melbourne, while Aston Martin is still yet to get off the mark.

The Scuderia hasn’t won on home soil since 2019 and will be looking to do so in the first of two Italian races this campaign. 

F1’s sprint qualifying format also makes a return for this weekend’s grand prix.

The format means there will be just one practice session ahead of qualifying, with a 100km sprint taking place on Saturday afternoon which will be used to determine the grid for the main grand prix.

With wet weather expected across the weekend, it could be an exciting first European race of the 2022 F1 season.

Previous F1 Imola (Emilia Romagna / San Marino) winners: 

2021: Max Verstappen (Red Bull)

2020: Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2007-2019: Not held

2006: Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)

2005: Fernando Alonso (Renault)

2004: Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)

2003: Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)

2002: Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)

2001: Ralf Schumacher (Williams)

2000: Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)

Most F1 Imola wins:

Michael Schumacher: 7 wins (1994, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2004 and 2006)

Alain Prost: 3 wins (1984, 1986, 1993)

Ayrton Senna: 3 wins (1988, 1989, 1991)

Follow Crash.net for all your motorsport live coverage, breaking news and expert analysis. We are your No 1 source for the big races in Formula 1, MotoGP, World Super Bikes, British Super Bikes, Indy Car, NASCAR, World Rally and every other major motorsport championship.

Crash.net will bring you lap-by-lap updates from the best races every weekend across two wheels and four wheels - we are your ultimate home of motorsport.

Full 2022 F1 calendar

March 18-20 - Round 1

Bahrain Grand Prix

March 25-27 - Round 2

Saudi Arabian Grand Prix

April 8-10 - Round 3

Australian Grand Prix

April 22-24 - Round 4

Emilia-Romagna Grand Prix

May 6-8 - Round 5

Miami Grand Prix

May 20-22 - Round 6

Spanish Grand Prix

May 27-29 - Round 7

Monaco Grand Prix

June 10-12 - Round 8

Azerbaijan Grand Prix

June 17-19 - Round 9

Canadian Grand Prix

July 1-3 - Round 10

British Grand Prix

July 8-10 - Round 11

Austrian Grand Prix

July 22-24 - Round 12

French Grand Prix

July 27-29 - Round 13

Hungarian Grand Prix

August 26-28 - Round 14

Belgian Grand Prix

September 2-4 - Round 15

Dutch Grand Prix

September 9-11 - Round 16

Italian Grand Prix

September 30-October 2 - Round 17

Singapore Grand Prix

October 7-9 - Round 18

Japanese Grand Prix

October 21-23 - Round 19

United States Grand Prix

October 28-30 - Round 20 

Mexican Grand Prix

November 11-13 - Round 21 

Brazilian Grand Prix

November 18-20 - Round 22

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix