F1 2022 Bahrain Grand Prix - Free Practice Results (1)

Results from the first practice session at the Bahrain Grand Prix, Round 1 of the 2022 Formula 1 world championship.
Charles Leclerc (MON) Ferrari F1-75.
Charles Leclerc (MON) Ferrari F1-75.
© xpbimages.com
2022 F1 Bahrain Grand Prix - FREE PRACTICE RESULTS (1)
1Pierre GaslyFRAScuderia AlphaTauri1m34.193s
2Charles LeclercMONScuderia Ferrari1m34.557s
3Carlos SainzESPScuderia Ferrari1m34.611s
4George RussellGBRMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team1m34.629s
5Max VerstappenNEDOracle Red Bull Racing1m34.742s
6Lance StrollCANAston Martin Aramco Cognizant Formula One Team1m34.814s
7Lewis HamiltonGBRMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team1m34.943s
8Fernando AlonsoESPBWT Alpine F1 Team1m35.000s
9Yuki TsunodaJPNScuderia AlphaTauri1m35.028s
10Sergio PerezMEXOracle Bull Racing1m35.050s
11Guanyu ZhouCHNAlfa Romeo F1 Team Orlen1m35.053s
12Esteban OconFRABWT Alpine F1 Team1m35.151s
13Nicholas LatifiCANWilliams Racing1m35.644s
14Nico HulkenbergGERAston Martin Aramco Cognizant Formula One Team1m35.815s
15Alexander AlbonTHAWilliams Racing1m35.923s
16Lando NorrisGBRMcLaren F1 Team1m36.304s
17Daniel RicciardoAUSMcLaren F1 Team1m36.402s
18Mick SchumacherGERUralkali Haas F1 Team1m36.536s
19Kevin MagnussenDENUralkali Haas F1 Team1m36.804s
20Valtteri BottasFINAlfa Romeo F1 Team OrlenNo Time Set

The 2022 Formula 1 season is finally here as the action gets underway at the Bahrain International Circuit.

Over the years, Bahrain has been great for wheel-to-wheel action so the Sakhir circuit will be a great way to introduce F1's new era of cars.

The cars are completely different for this year with new technical regulations introduced to level the playing field and make overtaking easier.

The same teams appear to be at the front with Red Bull enjoying a strong second pre-season test as Max Verstappen looks to defend the drivers' championship.

The Dutchman set a number of blistering laps on the final day of F1 testing in Bahrain when Red Bull introduced some new upgrades.

Ferrari had its best pre-season campaign in years with Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz consistently at the front of the timesheets.

The Scuderia hasn't won since 2019 nor has it tasted championship glory since 2008. 

Eight-time constructors' champions Mercedes appears to be on the back foot going into Bahrain with it most affected by porpoising - the bouncing movement at high speed.

McLaren is best placed to challenge outside the top three teams after coming away from Barcelona very confident. 

However, the Woking outfit struggled in Bahrain due to a recurring brake issue which curtailed the team's running.

The team was also impacted by Daniel Ricciardo's absence after he tested positive for COVID-19.

The midfield is impossible to predict with Haas and Alfa Romeo showing impressive pace at times, while Alpine, Aston Martin and AlphaTauri have traditionally led the midfield in recent years.

Recent Bahrain GP winners:

2021 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2020 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2019 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2018 - Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)

2017 - Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)

2016 - Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)

2015 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2014 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2013 - Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)

Read More