The stewards noted: “Car 07 [Lawson’s Hitech] was found to have used a throttle map, not in compliance with Technical Regulations.”

In F2, the drivers are required to use a defined throttle pedal progressivity map programmed in position one of the steering wheel throttle map rotary knob during all formation lap starts and all race starts until the car reaches 50kph

Following an investigation after the race, Lawson was found guilty of using a different throttle map at the start of the race, which contradicts the Technical Regulations - Article 3.6.5.

The Hitech driver had stormed to a commanding victory in the morning at Monte Carlo.

Lawson overtook Oscar Piastri with a brave move into the penultimate corner, in wet conditions.

From then on, he controlled the pace at the front and resisted any mid-race pressure from Ticktum.

Lawson’s disqualification means Ticktum inherits the victory and moves into second in the drivers’ standings, 18 points behind Guanyu Zhou.

The Red Bull junior drops to fourth in the standings as a result.

The disqualification also sees Oscar Piastri move up to second and promotes Juri Vips onto the podium.

The rest of the top ten is as follows: Theo Pourchaire, Ralph Boschung, Ralph Boschung, Lirim Zendeli, Jehan Daruvala, Jack Aitken and Robert Shwartzman.

Only the top eight score points in F2’s sprint races, but as Shwartzman finished inside the top ten having set the fastest lap, he’s awarded an additional two points.

The feature race takes place after F1 qualifying on Saturday.