The GP2 Series has revealed its calendar for the 2009 season, which will feature 20 races over ten race weekends.

On the whole, the series will follow the Formula One calendar around Europe before the traditional stand alone event to conclude the season. As previously announced, the finale this season will be held at the new Algarve circuit in Portugal, which will host the first ever GP2 event on Portuguese soil.

After pre-season tests in France and Spain, the series will return to Catalunya for the opening rounds in May, followed by the challenging street circuit in Monaco later that month. Trips to Istanbul and Silverstone follow in June, before the Nurburgring and the Hungaroring in July. Valencia, Spa and Monza complete the F1 support events before the trip to Portimao in late September.

The 2009 season meanwhile will feature 13 teams, with a few changes made from 2008.

The main news if the demise of BCN, which will now be known as Ocean Racing Technology following the takeover led by former Formula One racer Tiago Monteiro, while both Piquet Sports and Trust Team Arden will have new names for the new season; being known as Piquet GP and Arden International respectively.

2009 GP2 Series:

11-13 March Paul Ricard France Test
23-25 March BarcelonaSpain Test
9-10 May Barcelona Spain
22-23 May Monte-CarloMonaco
6-7 June IstanbulTurkey
20-21 June Silverstone Great-Britain
11-12 July Nurburgring Germany
25-26 July Budapest Hungary
22-23 August Valencia Spain
29-30 August Spa Belgium
12-13 September Monza Italy
19-20 September Portimao Portugal

2009 GP2 Series Grid:

1-2: Barwa Int. Campos Team
3-4: iSport International
5-6: Piquet GP
7-8: Racing Engineering
9-10: ART Grand Prix
11-12: Arden International
14-15: Super Nova Racing
16-17: Dams
18-19: Trident Racing
20-21: Fisichella Motor Sport Int.
22-23: Durango
24-25: Ocean Racing Technology
26-27: DPR