Will Power charged to his maiden Indianapolis 500 victory on Sunday after overcoming Ed Carpenter in a race-long battle before reclaiming the lead in the closing stages after Stefan Wilson and Jack Harvey attempted to fuel save their way to an unlikely victory.

Starting third on the grid behind Carpenter and Penske teammate Simon Pagenaud, Power remained at the front throughout the race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, moving into the ascedency following the final round of green-flag stops with around 30 laps to go.

Power was able to open up a gap over Carpenter and Andretti's Alexander Rossi, who managed to fight his way into contention at the front despite starting on the back row of the grid, only for a late caution following a spin for Tony Kanaan to put his win in jeopardy.

Oriol Servia, Stefan Wilson and Jack Harvey occupied the top three as they pinned their hopes on a final caution in the closing laps that would allow their fuel to last until the chequered flag, but none of the trio could get to the end without a late splash-and-dash stop.

Power was able to pass Servia on-track before reclaiming the lead when Wilson and Harvey both pitted before crossing the line 3.1 seconds clear of Carpenter, claiming Penske's 17th Indy 500 victory as well as marking his maiden success in the classic race.

Scott Dixon completed the podium for Chip Ganassi Racing ahead of Rossi in P4, with Andretti teammate Ryan Hunter-Reay finishing fifth. Pagenaud took sixth ahead of Carlos Munoz, who continued his impressive Indy 500 record by finishing seventh in his first IndyCar appearance of the season.

Defending IndyCar champion Josef Newgarden finished eighth ahead of debutant Robert Wickens, while Graham Rahal completed the top 10 positions. Following their late efforts, Wilson, Harvey and Servia were left to settle for P15, P16 and P17 respectively.