The San Marino rider held off reigning 250cc world champion and 2007 points leader Jorge Lorenzo by a solid 0.410secs while Honda's Julian Simon pushed reigning 125cc champ Alvaro Bautista to the outside of the front row.

KTM's Mika Kallio heads row two, while Irish rookie Eugene Laverty will start 15th for his first 'home' grand prix.

Final qualifying - Donington Park:

1. de Angelis (Aprilia)
2. Lorenzo (Aprilia) +0.410secs
3. Simon (Honda) +0.652secs
4. Bautista (Aprilia) +0.705secs
5. Kallio (KTM) +0.739secs
6. Dovizioso (Honda) +0.779secs
7. Simoncelli (Gilera) +0.788secs
8. Barbera (Aprilia) +0.818secs
9. Luthi (Aprilia) +0.820secs
10. H. Aoyama (KTM) +0.999secs

15. Laverty (Honda) +2.098secs